Preview: Glasgow Warriors v Treviso

Date published: October 27 2016

Glasgow are boosted by the return of wing Tommy Seymour to their starting line-up that will face Treviso at Scotstoun on Friday.

Seymour returns on the right wing and Rory Hughes is on the opposite side, with Stuart Hogg completing the back three.

Henry Pyrgos and Finn Russell will combine as the half-backs and Alex Dunbar and Mark Bennett start in midfield.

In the front-row, Alex Allan and Sila Puafisi start either side of Pat MacArthur, who came off the bench and scored at Thomond Park last weekend.

Tim Swinson and Jonny Gray start in the second-row, while Josh Strauss moves from number eight to blindside flanker and Ryan Wilson starts at the back of the scrum.

Italy flanker Simone Favaro returns to the starting line-up against his old side having made his return from injury off the bench against Munster.

USA back-row Langilangi Haupeakui and New Zealand-born lock Brian Alainu’uese are named on Glasgow's bench.

Peter Horne, Corey Flynn and Lee Jones are also named amongst the replacements after recovering from injury, while Canada international prop Djustice Sears-Duru could make his home debut for the Warriors after making two appearances on the road this season.

Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend said: "We’ve been boosted this week by the return of Tommy (Seymour), Peter (Horne), Corey (Flynn) and Lee (Jones).

"Langi (Haupeakui) and Brian (Alainu’uese) have settled in quickly and have trained well to earn an opportunity to be involved.

"Treviso ran us close at Scotstoun last season and we needed a late try to win the game, so we’ll need an improved performance tomorrow night."

Meanwhile, Treviso have named Jayden Hayward at full-back while on the wings Andrea Pratichetti and David Odiete start.

Tommaso Iannone and Alberto Sgarbi will be the midfield combination while the half-backs are Tito Tebaldi and Ian McKinley.

The front-row will consist of Nicola Quaglio, Luca Bigi and Simone Ferrari, the locks are Filippo Gerosa and Marco Fuser while in the back-row Dean Budd, Alessandro Zanni and Abraham Steyn complete the XV.

Form: Glasgow Warriors last three matches in the PRO12 have all curiously been won by the away side on the day. Warriors' solitary defeat at Scotstoun in the Championship since September 2015 being when Ulster were the visitors in Round 4 of this campaign. The Scotsmen have won their last twenty matches against Italian opponents since their reversal to Treviso at Firhill in September 2011. Treviso’s only win so far this season was 27-11 at home to the Dragons on 23 September. Treviso are without a victory outside of Italy since Round 22 of the 2012/13 season when they were successful at the Scarlets. The Warriors have won their last nine matches against Treviso, whilst the Italian’s most recent success in Scotland was when they beat Edinburgh at Murrayfield in October 2012.

The teams:

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Rory Hughes, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Henry Pyrgos (cc), 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 Simone Favaro, 6 Josh Strauss, 5 Jonny Gray (cc), 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Sila Puafisi, 2 Pat MacArthur, 1 Alex Allan
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Djustice Sears-Duru, 18 D’Arcy Rae, 19 Brian Alainu’uese, 20 Langilangi Haupeakui, 21 Ali Price, 22 Pete Horne, 23 Lee Jones

Treviso: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 David Odiete, 13 Tommaso Iannone, 12 Alberto Sgarbi, 11 Andrea Pratichetti, 10 Ian McKinley, 9 Tito Tebaldi, 8 Abraham Steyn, 7 Alessandro Zanni (c), 6 Dean Budd, 5 Marco Fuser, 4 Filippo Gerosa, 3 Simone Ferrari, 2 Luca Bigi, 1 Nicola Quaglio
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Federico Zani, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Francesco Minto, 20 Marco Barbini, 21 Edoardo Gori, 22 Tommaso Allan, 23 Angelo Esposito

Date: Friday, October 28
Venue: Scotstoun
Kick-off: 19:35 BST (18:35 GMT)
Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Sean Gallagher (Ireland), Kevin White (Scotland)
TMO: Kevin Beggs (Ireland)