Preview: Glasgow v Ospreys

Date published: October 30 2015

Tighthead prop Sila Puafisi will make his Glasgow Warriors debut at Scotstoun on Sunday in the PRO12 match with the Ospreys.

The Tongan international returns from the Rugby World Cup, along with Fijian second-row Leone Nakarawa and Scotland trio Tommy Seymour, Peter Horne and Gordon Reid.

USA international lock Greg Peterson will make his first start for the club, after making two appearances from the bench.

Seymour starts at full-back, with Sean Lamont moving to the left wing in place of Rory Hughes and Lee Jones coming in on the opposite side for Taqele Naiyaravoro, who has been named amongst the replacements.

Richie Vernon and Horne renew their centre partnership, after playing together in midfield for the final six games of last season.

Duncan Weir and Mike Blair continue their half-back partnership.

In the front row Reid comes in for Alex Allan and Puafisi replaces Zander Fagerson, while Pat MacArthur continues at hooker.

Peterson and Nakarawa link up for the first time in the engine room and it’s the same back row that started last week’s defeat to Leinster, with Rob Harley, Simone Favaro and Ryan Wilson combining.

Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 hooker James Malcolm is named on the bench for the first time, while Ali Price could make his first appearance of the season and Sam Johnson is in line to make his competitive debut for the club.

Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend said: "Ospreys will be really fired up for this game and they are coming to Glasgow with a strong team.

"They play really physical rugby and have a confrontational and organised defence. 

"It’s just the type of challenge we relish and we have been working hard this week to deliver our best performance of the season on Sunday.

"It’s great to have five more international players back from the Rugby World Cup and they will add to the experience we have within our squad.

Meanwhile the Ospreys welcome back several internationals, including the Wales contingent of Eli Walker, Dan Biggar, Justin Tipuric, Dan Lydiate, Aaron Jarvis and Paul James to the starting XV.

Scott Baldwin and World Rugby player of the year nominee Alun Wyn Jones are on the bench.

"It doesn't get much tougher than going away to the champions but we are up for it. We know that it was extremely disappointing last weekend but you can't afford to dwell on things like that," said Ospreys boss Steve Tandy.

"You've got to face up to the challenge, work on putting things right and do what you've got to do to ensure there's no repeat of a performance which fell well short of the standard expected of an Ospreys team."

Form: Reigning Champions Glasgow Warriors' only defeat in their last dozen matches at Scotstoun in all tournaments came when they hosted Scarlets in the Guinness PRO12 in the opening round this season. Ospreys have won just one of their last six PRO12 fixtures: 25-22 at Treviso on 17th October, whilst the Welshmen's only success on their last dozen visits to Scotland was 15-14 against Edinburgh at Murrayfield in February 2012. Ospreys beat the Warriors 21-10 on the most recent occasion that the two sides met at Liberty Stadium in May to end a six game Glasgow winning run against the Welshmen. Ospreys last victory on Glasgow soil was at Firhill in September 2009.

The teams:

Glasgow: 15 Tommy Seymour, 14 Lee Jones, 13 Richie Vernon, 12 Peter Horne, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Mike Blair, 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 Simone Favaro, 6 Rob Harley (c), 5 Leone Nakarawa, 4 Greg Peterson, 3 Sila Puafisi, 2 Pat MacArthur, 1 Gordon Reid
Replacements: 16 James Malcolm, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Scott Cummings, 20 Chris Fusaro, 21 Ali Price, 22 Sam Johnson, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro

Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Tom Grabham, 13 Ben John, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Eli Walker, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 James King, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Rory Thornton, 4 Lloyd Ashley (c), 3 Aaron Jarvis, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Paul James
Replacements: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Ryan Bevington, 18 Dmitri Arhip, 19 Alun Wyn Jones, 20 Dan Baker, 21 Tom Habberfield, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Jonathan Spratt

Date: Sunday, November 1
Venue: Scotstoun Stadium
Kick-off: 14:30 GMT
Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Lloyd Linton (Scotland), Mike Adamson (Scotland)