Preview: Edinburgh v Munster

Date published: November 6 2015

The Scotland front row of Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford and WP Nel, alongside centre Matt Scott, return to Edinburgh's starting for Saturday's PRO12 clash with Munster at Murrayfield.
Dickinson, Ford and Nel – who touched down against USA – played in all five of Scotland’s Rugby World Cup matches while Scott featured in four, scoring a bonus point try in the pool win over the north Americans.
Eighteen-year-old Blair Kinghorn keeps his starting spot at full-back with winger Damien Hoyland retaining the 14 shirt.
Will Helu moves from left wing to outside centre with Scott in at inside centre replacing the injured Sam Beard while Tom Brown replaces Helu at 11.
Fully recovered, Greig Tonks comes in at stand-off to replace the injured Phil Burleigh with scrum-half Sam Hidalgo-Clyne retaining the number nine jersey to complete the half-back partnership.
In addition to the returning front row, Alex Toolis moves up from the bench to pair Anton Bresler in the second row, replacing the unavailable Fraser McKenzie.
Mike Coman will again lead the team out at blindside, Hamish Watson returning at openside and Cornell Du Preez moving up from the bench to start in the number eight jersey.
Edinburgh head coach Alan Solomons said: “We are only too aware of the challenge that we face on Saturday and know that we need to be at our best.”

Meanwhile, World Cup returnees Conor Murray and Keith Earls will make their first Munster appearances of the season.
Munster head coach Anthony Foley has mades eight changes to the starting XV that defeated Ulster at Thomond Park for this weekend's clash.
An all new front row sees Dave Kilcoyne and Duncan Casey come back in with John Ryan making his first start of the season.  Donnacha Ryan is another to make his first Munster start of the season and does so partnering Dave Foley in the second row.
Dave O'Callaghan returns at six with Jack O'Donoghue continuing at seven and captain CJ Stander completes the back row in switching back to number eight.
Conor Murray and Ian Keatley resume their partnership for the first time this season in the half-backs with Francis Saili and Keith Earls forming a new pairing in the midfield.
The only personnel change amongst the back-three sees winger Ronan O'Mahony make his first start of the current campaign.  Gerhard van den Heever remains on the right wing and Simon Zebo makes the move to full-back.
Uruguayan international Mario Sagario is again in line to make his first appearance for the province after being named amongst the replacements.
On the injury front, Billy Holland (ankle) has completed his return to play rehabilitation and is expected to play a part in Cork Constitution's All Ireland League encounter against Young Munster at Tom Clifford Park while squad captain Peter O'Mahony's knee surgery is expected to take place in a fortnight.

Form: Edinburgh began the PRO12 campaign with four straight victories but have been defeated in Rounds Five and Six at Zebre and at Connacht respectively. Edinburgh have won all three home games in the PRO12 so far this season. Munster have lost just once since last season’s Final defeat to Glasgow: 22-25 at Scarlets in round 5. Munster have not lost back-to-back way games in the competition since December-January. Edinburgh have beaten Munster just once in the PRO12 in their last seven fixtures: 14-13 at Limerick in the opening round of last season, whilst they have not beaten the Irishmen at Murrayfield since September 2011.

The teams:

Edinburgh: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Damien Hoyland, 13 Will Helu, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Tom Brown, 10 Greig Tonks, 9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 8 Cornell Du Preez, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Mike Coman (c), 5 Alex Toolis, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Replacements: 16 Neil Cochrane, 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 John Andress, 19 Roddy Grant, 20 Nasi Manu, 21 Sean Kennedy, 22 Andries Strauss, 23 Dougie Fife.

Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Francis Saili, 11 Ronan O'Mahony, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander (c), 7 Jack O'Donoghue, 6 Dave O'Callaghan, 5 Dave Foley, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 John Ryan, 2 Duncan Casey, 1 Dave Kilcoyne.
Replacements: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 James Cronin, 18 Mario Sagario, 19 Robin Copeland, 20 Jordan Coghlan, 21 Tomás O'Leary, 22 Rory Scannell, 23 Denis Hurley.

Date: Saturday, November 7
Venue: Murrayfield
Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Neil Paterson (Scotland), Bob Nevins (Scotland)
TMO: Jim Yuille (Scotland)