Preview: Clermont v Bordeaux-Bègles

Date published: January 22 2016

Clermont have made five changes for Sunday's Champions Cup clash against Top 14 rivals Bordeaux-Bègles.

Hosea Gear takes over from David Strettle in the only change to the Clermont back-line, while Alexandre Lapandry wears the number seven shirt as he replaces the suspended Vito Kolelishvili.

There are three changes in the tight five. Paul Jedrasiak is the new lock alongside Sébastian Vahaamahina, while Thomas Domingo and John Ulugia come in at loosehead prop and hooker respectively.

Bordeaux-Bègles on the other hand make a massive 13 changes to their team from the win over Exeter last weekend.

Fiji wing Metuisela Talebula is the only survivor in the back-line as Adam Ashley-Cooper is rested. In come France winger Sofiane Guitoune and France fly-half Lionel Beauxis.

Luke Braid remains in the forward pack at blindside flanker with Peter Saili and Matthew Clarkin joining him in the back row.

Australia international Sekope Kepu also returns at tighthead prop.


The teams:

Clermont: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 Hosea Gear, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Noa Nakaitaci, 10 Camille Lopez, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Alexandre Japandry, 6 Damien Chouly, 5 Sébastien Vahaamahina, 4 Paul Jedrasiak, 3 Daniel Kotze, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Thomas Domingo
Replacements: 16 Benjamin Kayser, 17 Raphael Chaume, 18 Mickael Simutoga, 19 Loic Jacquet, 20 Julien Bardy, 21 Ludovic Radosavljevic, 22 Pato Fernandez, 23 Aurélien Rougerie

UBB: 15 Darly Domvo, 14 Metuisela Talebula, 13 Jean-Baptiste Dubié, 12 Romain Lonca, 11 Sofiane Guitoune, 10 Lionel Beauxis, 9 Baptiste Serin, 8 Matthew Clarkin, 7 Peter Saili, 6 Luke Braid, 5 Adam Jaulhac, 4 Berend Botha, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Clement Maynadier, 1 Sébastien Taofifenua
Replacements: 16 Ole Avei, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Jean-Baptiste Poux, 19 Cyril Cazeaux, 20 Marco Tauleigne, 21 Heini Adams, 22 Pierre Bernard, 23 Paulin Riva

Date: Sunday, January 24
Venue: Stade Marcel Michelin
Kick-off: 16:15 local (15:15 GMT)
Referee: JP Doyle (England)
Assistant Referees: Matthew Carley (England), Paul Dix (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)