Premiership Team of the Season: Northampton dominate, Sale snubbed as just one Saracen features

Jared Wright
Northampton Saints forward Courtney Lawes, Sale Sharks fly-half George Ford and Harlequins fullback Tyrone Green.

The Team of the Season was selected by a panel of judges.

The official Premiership Team of the Season has been announced with seven clubs represented in the 2023/24 side.

Newcastle Falcons, Gloucester and Sale have no representatives in the team despite the Sharks claiming a place in the semi-finals.

Table-toppers Northampton Saints have the most players in the XV with five of their stars featuring in the side selected by the panel.

Premiership Team of the Season

Despite falling short of the semi-finals Harlequins have two players in the team. Surprisingly standout flanker Will Evans does not feature, but his fellow forward Fin Baxter and full-back Tyrone Green do.

Similarly, Bristol Bears have one player making the final cut with Benhard Janse van Rensburg rewarded for his excellent form since arriving from London Irish.

As for Exeter Chiefs, they have three players in the team including the Breakthrough Player of the Season and the Premiership Player of the Season.

‘Phenomenal’ Finn Russell lauded for work ethic after ‘significant injury’

Meanwhile, semi-finalists Saracens have just one player included, Sale have none and Bath have two.

Harlequins star full-back Green claims the number 15 jersey after another stunning season in the Premiership, which also saw him claim the Try of the Season.

Joining the South African in the back-three is Breakthrough Player of the Season Immanuel Feyi-Waboso (Exeter) and Premiership Rugby top try-scorer Ollie Sleightholme of Northampton Saints.

Janse van Rensburg is joined in the centres by Gallagher Player of the Season Henry Slade of Exeter Chiefs. Bath’s Ben Spencer claims the number nine jersey, with Northampton’s brilliant young fly-half Fin Smith in the 10 jersey.

Ranked: The 20 best Premiership signings of the 2023/24 season


Leicester Tigers number eight Jasper Wiese is the East Midlands side’s only inclusion in the side after a standout final campaign in England.

He is joined in the back-row by Saracens’ only representative, Ben Earl, and Northampton Saints’ legend Courtney Lawes.

Springboks powerhouse Jasper Wiese’s INSANE Leicester Tigers stats

Saints lock Alex Coles and Exeter Chiefs’ Rusi Tuima impressed the panel to be selected in the second-row.

Harlequins’ young loosehead prop Fin Baxter is rewarded for a terrific breakthrough season selected alongside Saints’ livewire hooker Curtis Langdon with Bath’s try-scoring machine Thomas du Toit at tighthead after a superb debut season in the Premiership.

“The great thing about this XV is the combination of the grizzled international pros like Lawes and Slade with the breakout stars such as Baxter and Feyi-Waboso,” Chris Jones, BBC Rugby Union Correspondent and member of the judging panel, said.

“Then you have players like Ben Spencer continuing to remind everyone of his enduring class, while Curtis Langdon at hooker has been a revelation this campaign for the Saints.

“The fact Northampton are providing five of the XV is testament to the excellent season they’ve had.”

Revealed: The four South Africans that are top of England’s wishlist including the ‘peerless’ counter-attacking threat

Premiership Rugby Team of the Season

15 Tyrone Green (Harlequins), 14 Immanuel Feyi-Waboso (Exeter Chiefs), 13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), 12 Benhard Janse van Rensburg (Bristol Bears), 11 Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints), 10 Fin Smith (Northampton Saints), 9 Ben Spencer (Bath Rugby), 8 Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers), 7 Ben Earl (Saracens), 6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), 5 Alex Coles Northampton Saints), 4 Rusi Tuima (Exeter Chiefs), 3 Thomas du Toit (Bath Rugby), 2 Curtis Langdon (Northampton Saints), 1 Fin Baxter (Harlequins)

The judges for the Premiership Rugby Awards 2023/24: Ali Eykyn (TNT Sports), Ugo Monye (BBC, TNT Sports), Jill Douglas (ITV, BBC), Ashleigh Wilmot (Eurosport, TNT Sports), Rugby Inside Line, Alex Lowe (The Times), Hugh Godwin (i), Nick Mullins (TNT Sports), and Chris Jones (BBC).