Pools for Cape Town Sevens

Date published: December 7 2015

World Rugby has announced the pools for the next round of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in Cape Town, which takes place this weekend.

The draw for the Cape Town Sevens was made before the Cup final at the opening round of the series in Dubai, with winners Fiji heading Pool A at the sold-out Cape Town Stadium.

Ben Ryan's side will come face to face with Argentina, Scotland and Russia, while the runners-up England compete against three African opposition in hosts and defending champions South Africa, Kenya and the only non-core side at the tournament Zimbabwe.

After their two victories over New Zealand helped USA to finish third in Dubai, Mike Friday's side will play Australia, Wales and Portugal.

Sir Gordon Tietjens' New Zealand, having finished fourth in Dubai, complete the top four seeds and await Samoa plus Dubai silverware winners France (Bowl) and Canada (Shield).

The HSBC Cape Town Sevens draw for Saturday, December 12:

Pool A: Fiji, Argentina, Scotland, Russia
Pool B: England, South Africa, Kenya, Zimbabwe
Pool C: USA, Australia, Wales, Portugal
Pool D: New Zealand, Samoa, France, Canada