Plisson boots Stade Français to victory

Date published: November 20 2016

Stade Français claimed a 21-17 victory over Montpellier at Stade Jean Bouin on Sunday in a result that pulls them away from the basement.

Jules Plisson was the shining light for the hosts as he slotted seven penalties, meaning two-try Montpellier came up short in the contest.

Stade Français struck first in Paris as a Plisson penalty gave them a 3-0 buffer against an outfit 10 points in the league ahead of them before kick-off.

As expected it was a cagey affair and there was some needle too, with Montpellier lock Jacques Du Plessis sent to the sin-bin on 15 minutes by referee Salem Attalah for striking Stade Français flanker Sylvain Nicolas. The visitors survived that period though as it remained 3-0.

Montpellier drew level on 25 minutes when Demetri Catrakilis struck a penalty for offside at a maul. 3-3 was a fair reflection of the game.

The hosts were back in front soon after though as after Stade failed to roll away, Plisson sent over a penalty from bang in front for 6-3. And the playmaker was again on-target right on half-time for 9-3 when he punished Montpellier for grappling a line-out jumper in the air.

Plisson continued his great work five minutes after the break as he extended the lead to nine points when Montpol were offside in defence.

But then came a lifeline for Montpellier as a chip kick down the sideline from wing Timoci Nagusa was gathered by replacement Jesse Mogg who found Joe Tomane for a try, which Catrakilis converted. Three minutes later Plisson took his side’s lead out to 15-10 with a penalty.

Montpellier crossed again soon after as Nagusa’s break down the outside of Hugo Bonneval before cutting inside moved his men in front.

But it was to be Stade Français’ and Plisson’s day as the international fly-half struck two further penalties to secure a vital four points.

The scorers:

For Stade Français:
Pens: Plisson 7

For Montpellier:
Tries: Tomane, Nagusa
Cons: Catrakilis 2
Pen: Catrakilis
Yellow Card: Jacques du Plessis

Stade Français: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Jeremy Sinzelle, 13 Jonathan Danty, 12 Theo Millet, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Julien Dupuy, 8 Jonathan Ross, 7 Raphael Lakafia, 6 Sylvain Nicolas, 5 Paul Gabrillagues, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Sakaria Taulafo, 2 Laurent Sempere, 1 Emmanuel Felsina
Replacements: 16 Remy Bonfils, 17 Zurabi Zhvania, 18 Mathieu De Giovanni, 19 Sekou Macalou, 20 Clement Daguin, 21 Julien Arias, 22 Josaia Raisuqe, 23 Giorgi Melikidze

Montpellier: 15 Joffrey Michel, 14 Timoci Nagusa, 13 Joseph Tomane, 12 Francois Steyn, 11 Marvin O’Connor, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic White, 8 Kelian Galletier, 7 Wian Liebenberg, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg, 4 Jacques Du Plessis, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Shalva Mamukashvili, 1 Gregory Fichten
Replacements: 16 Romain Ruffenach, 17 Yvan Watremez, 18 Julien Delannoy, 19 Antoine Battut, 20 Cameron Wright, 21 Yvan Reilhac, 22 Jesse Mogg, 23 Antoine Guillamon

Referee: Salem Attalah
Assistant Referees: Julien Castaignède, Sébastien Hebert
TMO: Eric Briquet Campin