Ospreys fall at Edinburgh

Date published: February 13 2015

Edinburgh inflicted a rare defeat on Guinness PRO12 league leaders the Ospreys on Friday, winning 24-16 at Myreside.

The Scots just snuck into the lead at half-time with a try and a penalty for Jade Te Rure. The Ospreys however were hot on their tails with three penalties for Sam Davies bringing the score to 10-9 at the break. 

The home side took top of the table Ospreys by surprise in the second-half scoring two tries courtesy of Tom Brown and Grayson Hart. Ospreys responded with a try of their own from Dan Evans but it was not enough and they left with nothing.

Davies opened the scoring with a penalty on 15 minutes after Te Rure had earlier missed for the home side. The fly-half made up for his earlier miss with a try just moments after Davies' penalty. Edinburgh launched an aggressive attack on the Ospreys and Te Rure found the gap to crash over for the try. 

Ospreys got two further penalties courtesy of Davies to put them back in the lead before Te Rure claimed his own a minute after the half-time whistle to bring his team just ahead, 10-9 at half time. 

Edinburgh opened the scoring with Brown's try in the 62nd minute but it was quickly followed by yellow cards for Damien Hoyland and Rory Sutherland within a minute of one another. However, Edinburgh coped well with only 13 men and suddenly the Ospreys were also a man down following the sin-binning of Duncan Jones. 

The Scottish side took advantage and after persistent pressure on the Ospreys line, Hart side stepped the defence and dived over the line.

Ospreys fought to the very last minute and Evans managed to find the line on 80 minutes but it was a mere consolation try.

The scorers:

For Edinburgh:
Tries: Te Rure, Brown, Hart
Con: Te Rure, Heathcote 2
Pen: Te Rure

For Ospreys:
Try: Evans
Con: Davies
Pen: Davies 3

Edinburgh: 15 Jack Cuthbert, 14 Tom Brown, 13 Sam Beard, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Damien Hoyland, 10 Jade Te Rure, 9 Grayson Hart, 8 Mike Coman, 7 Hugh Blake, 6 Roddy Grant, 5 Ollie Atkins, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 WP Nel, 2 Neil Cochrane, 1 Rory Sutherland.
Replacements: 16 Stuart McInally, 17 Grant Shiells, 18 John Andress, 19 Fraser McKenzie, 20 Tomas Leonardi, 21 Alex Glashan, 22 Tom Heathcote, 23 Andries Strauss.

Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Tom Grabham, 13 Ashley Beck, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Richard Fussell, 10 Sam Davies, 9 Martin Roberts, 8 Tyler Ardron (capt), 7 Sam Lewis, 6 Joe Bearman, 5 Rory Thornton, 4 Tevita Cavubati, 3 Dmitri Arhip, 2 Scott Otten, 1 Marc Thomas.
Replacements: 16 Matthew Dwyer, 17 Duncan Jones, 18 Daniel Suter, 19 James King, 20 Ieuan Jones, 21 Dan Baker, 22 Tom Habberfield, 23 Jonathan Spratt.

Referee: Gary Conway (IRFU)
Assistant Referees: Graeme Wells, Stephen Hart (both SRU)
TMO: Iain Ramage (SRU)