Ospreys edge out Edinburgh

Date published: March 3 2017

Ospreys moved to the top of the PRO12 standings on Friday as they claimed a hard-fought 13-9 victory over Edinburgh at Myreside.

The scoreline was stuck at 10-3 to the Ospreys for a large portion of the match thanks to a try from Fiji international Josh Matavesi, converted by Sam Davies, as the Welsh region went chasing a 13th win of the season.

Duncan Weir had struck an early penalty for the hosts and it was his two late strikes that kept the contest alive.

A second penalty from Davies, 50 minutes after his first, gave the Ospreys a narrow 13-9 buffer in the closing stages.

But Edinburgh threw everything at the PRO12 leaders in the final minutes, testing the Ospreys defence as the Welsh side clung on to win away from home.

The scorers:

For Edinburgh:
Pens: Weir 3

For Ospreys:
Try: Matavesi
Con: Davies
Pens: Davies 2

Edinburgh: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Damien Hoyland, 13 Glenn Bryce, 12 Chris Dean, 11 Rory Scholes, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 8 Cornell Du Preez, 7 Jamie Ritchie, 6 Magnus Bradbury, 5 Ben Toolis, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Murray McCallum, 2 Neil Cochrane (c), 1 Alasdair Dickinson
Replacements: 16 Stuart McInally, 17 Derrick Appiah, 18 Kevin Bryce, 19 Anton Bresler, 20 Lewis Carmichael, 21 Nathan Fowles, 22 Junior Rasolea, 23 Michael Allen

Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Keelan Giles, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Dafydd Howells, 10 Sam Davies, 9 Tom Habberfield (c), 8 James King, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Olly Cracknell, 5 Rory Thornton, 4 Tyler Ardron, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Nicky Smith
Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Paul James, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Joe Bearman, 20 Dan Baker, 21 Brendon Leonard, 22 Jonathan Spratt, 23 Jay Baker

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: David Wilkinson (Ireland), Bob Nevins (Scotland)
TMO: Kevin Beggs (Ireland)