Ospreys cruise past Treviso

Date published: September 5 2014

The Ospreys got their Pro12 season off to the perfect start with a comprehensive 44-13 win over Treviso at the Liberty Stadium.

The Ospreys got their season off to the perfect start with a comprehensive 44-13 win over Treviso at the Liberty Stadium.

Nicky Smith and Rhys Webb touched down in the opening period, while Dan Biggar was accurate from the kicking tee, as they opened up a 23-6 advantage at the break.

Although Joe Carlisle added two penalties for the Italian side, the hosts continued to control proceedings in the second half and Jeff Hassler, Scott Baldwin and Hanno Dirksen went over to secure the win.

Marco Fuser crossed the line for Benetton, but it proved to be mere consolation as the Ospreys took the spoils.

The Liberty Stadium outfit appear to have a more youthful outlook this season with the departures of Adam Jones, Ryan Jones, Ian Evans and Richard Hibbard, but they opened this campaign brightly.

Webb was impressive around the fringes and it didn't take long for Biggar to take them six points in front via a pair of three-pointers.

Carlisle responded for the visitors with a penalty of his own, but Smith soon went over after good work from Dan Baker to extend the Ospreys' lead.

Despite Treviso's pivot reducing the arrears from the tee, another Biggar effort and a deserved try for Webb gave the Welsh region a comfortable 17-point buffer at the interval.

The second period proved similarly difficult for the Italian outfit as Steve Tandy's men continued to play with power and pace.

Under pressure, Rupert Harden received a yellow card and the hosts scored two tries while the prop was off the field.

Firstly, Hassler took advantage of the extra space by weaving across the whitewash before Baldwin touched down from close range.

To their credit, Benetton restored a bit of pride when Fuser scored but Tandy's team had the final say through Dirksen.

The scorers:

For Ospreys:
Tries: Smith, Webb, Hassler, Baldwin, Dirksen
Conversions: Biggar 4, Davies
Penalties: Biggar 3

For Treviso:
Try: Fuser
Conversion: Carlisle
Penalties: Carlisle 2
Yellow cards: Harden, Manu

The teams:

Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Jeff Hassler, 13 Andrew Bishop, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Eli Walker, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Dan Baker, 7 James King, 6 Joe Bearman, 5 Rynier Bernardo, 4 Lloyd Peers (capt), 3 Aaron Jarvis, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Nicky Smith.
Replacements: 16 Sam Parry, 17 Duncan Jones, 18 Daniel Suter, 19 Tyler Ardron, 20 Morgan Allen, 21 Martin Roberts, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Hanno Dirksen.

Treviso: 15 Simone Ragusi, 14 Ludovico Nitoglia, 13 Luca Morisi, 12 Sam Christie, 11 Michele Campagnaro, 10 Joe Carlisle, 9 James Ambrosini, 8 Leo Auva'a, 7 Tomas Vallejos Cinalli, 6 Meyer Swanepoel, 5 Corniel Van Zyl (capt), 4 Marco Fuser, 3 Rupert Harden, 2 Davide Giazzon, 1 Matteo Muccignat.
Replacements: 16 Giovanni Maistri, 17 Salesi Manu, 18 Matteo Zanusso, 19 Marco Lazzaroni, 20 Mat Luamanu, 21 Marco Barbini, 22 Angelo Esposito, 23 Henry Seniloli.

Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)