North returns for Wales against Scotland

Date published: February 22 2017

George North's return from injury is the only change made by Wales for their Six Nations clash with Scotland on Saturday.

North comes back into the side and lines up in the back-three alongside Liam Williams and full-back Leigh Halfpenny.

Scarlets centre duo Scott Williams and Jonathan Davies continue their partnership as do Ospreys pair Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar at half-back.

Wales name an unchanged pack for the trip to Edinburgh with Rob Evans, Ken Owens and Tomas Francis packing down in the front row and Jake Ball and Alun Wyn Jones in the second row. Sam Warburton, Justin Tipuric and Ross Moriarty make up the unchanged back row.

"We have been able to select from a position of strength which is a huge positive and it is good to welcome George (North) back into the starting XV and Luke (Charteris) on to the bench," said Wales Head Coach Rob Howley.

"In terms of intensity and performance, we stepped up a level against England and we need to take the positives from that performance and take it into 80 minutes against Scotland at Murrayfield.

"We know what we are capable of and we want to deliver that on Saturday alongside the result, which international rugby is all about."

On the bench there is just one change with Luke Charteris returning to the matchday squad.

He joins fellow forwards on the bench Scott Baldwin, Nicky Smith, Samson Lee and Taulupe Faletau. Gareth Davies, Sam Davies and Jamie Roberts provide the backline cover.

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Ross Moriarty, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Sam Warburton, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (c), 4 Jake Ball, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Rob Evans
Replacements: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Luke Charteris, 20 Taulupe Faletau, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Jamie Roberts

Date: Saturday, February 25
Venue: Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 14:25 GMT
Referee: Johnny Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: JP Doyle (England), Matthew Carley (England)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)