North Harbour continue winning streak

Date published: September 14 2017

North Harbour secured a 31-22 victory four minutes from time over Championship outfit Northland in Whangarei on Thursday.

The visitors continued their winning run to make it five victories in a row this year.

Northland’s Dan Hawkins and North Harbour’s Bryn Gatland traded three penalties apiece in the first 40.

The game came to life when Northland wing Jordan Hyland scored the game’s first try in the 58th minute.

Soon after, North Harbour’s Tevita Li scored a try with 14 minutes remaining to give his side the lead.

In the 70th and 73rd minutes, two home town penalty goals to replacement fly-half Peter Breen took Northland to a five-point lead.

North Harbour’s Ben Volavola scored a converted try next to make his side reclaim the lead before Matt Vaega intercept try put the game beyond doubt.

The scorers:

For North Harbour:
Tries: Li, Volavola, Vaega
Cons: Gatland 2
Pens: Gatland 4

For Northland:
Try: Hyland
Con: Breen
Pens: Hawkins 4, Breen

North Harbour: 15 Shaun Stevenson. 14 Matt Duffie, 13 Matt Vaega, 12 Harrison Groundwater, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Bryn Gatland, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Hapakuki Moala-Liavaa, 7 Murphy Taramai, 6 Glenn Preston, 5 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Sione Mafileo, 2 James Parsons (captain), 1 Chris Eves.
Replacements:16 Steven Misa, 17 Karl Tuinukuage, 18. Michael Tamoeaieta, 19 Brandon Nansen, 20 Collett Connor, 21 Chris Smylie, 22 Shaun Treeby, 23 Ben Volavola.

Northland: 15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Jordan Hyland, 13 Rene Ranger, 12 Jack Goodhue, 11 Jone Macilai, 10 Dan Hawkins, 9 Sam Nock, 8 Jaycob Matiu, 7 Dan Pryor, 6 Jack Ram, 5 Tim Bond, 4 Murray Douglas, 3 Ropate Rinakama, 2 Matt Moulds, 1 Ross Wright.
Replacements: 16 Jordan Olsen, 17 Howard Sililoto, 18 Phil Kite, 19 Josh Larsen, 20 Michael Faleafa, 21 Matty Markwick, 22 Peter Breen, 23 Blake Hohaia.

Referee: Michael Winter