No Barrett, Nonu for ‘Canes

Date published: June 11 2015

The Hurricanes will be without All Black duo Beauden Barrett and Ma'a Nonu for Saturday's Super Rugby clash with the Chiefs in New Plymouth. 

Barrett will miss the chance to run onto his home pitch after suffering a calf strain that has ruled him out of the 23 while Nonu has been rested.

The milestones continue for skipper Conrad Smith, who will join Nonu as the most-capped Hurricane when he leads his team onto Yarrow Stadium.

The match will be Smith's 124th appearance for the ‘Canes, a number Nonu brought up against the Highlanders in Napier last weekend.

Smith achieved a milestone earlier this year when he and Nonu became the most capped midfield pairing for the ‘Canes, while last week he also became the most successful Hurricanes’ captain, winning 33 matches in charge. The record was previously held by Rodney So’oialo, who led the team to 32 victories during his time as captain.

Coach Chris Boyd has shuffled his team slightly for this week’s clash, bringing Mark Abbott and Taranaki-born Callum Gibbins into the starting line-up, along with Brad Shields, who came off the bench last week.

Boyd has decided to let hard-working forwards James Broadhurst and Ardie Savea keep their shirts on a little while longer this week, with the pair having started 13 and 12 matches respectively, out of a possible 15.

James Marshall will run the show again from fly-half, while Nehe Milner-Skudder moves to full-back. Wider training group member Sam McNicol has been called into the reserves and may get his first ever Super Rugby start.

Hurricanes: 15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Rey Lee-Lo, 11 Julian Savea, 10 James Marshall, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Callum Gibbins, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Mark Abbott, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Reggie Goodes. 
Replacements: 16 Brayden Mitchell, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 19 James Broadhurst, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 Frae Wilson, 22 Willis Halaholo, 23 Sam McNicol.

Date: Saturday, 13 June 

Venue: Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth 

Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT, 17:35 AEST, 09:35 SAST)

Referee: Chris Pollock

Assistant referees: Shane McDermott, Paul Williams

TMO: Chris Wratt