New Zealand win Wellington Sevens

Date published: February 7 2015

Defending champions New Zealand beat England 27-21 in the final at the fourth round of the Sevens World Series at the Westpac Stadium in Wellington.

17-year-old debutant Rieko Ioane shone in the win, Gordon Tietjens’ side’s first of the Series.

The result means the All Blacks Sevens move up to second in the overall World Series standings behind South Africa, who finished third thanks to a 40-7 win over Scotland, with England moving to within two points of Australia who occupy fourth.

Third-place playoff:
Scotland 7-40 South Africa

Semi Finals
South Africa 7-17 New Zealand
Scotland 19-24 England

Earlier, Simon Amor’s side came from 19-0 behind to snatch victory against Scotland, who were appearing in only their fourth ever Cup semi final and first outside of the UK, with Charlie Hayter scoring the winning try in sudden death extra time for the 2013 Sevens Wellington winners.

The All Black Sevens secured their Cup final berth with a hard-fought 17-7 win over South Africa to guarantee a move into second in the overall standings, debutants Jack Goodhue and Ioane scoring second-half tries to help secure the win.

Joe Webber scored first to give New Zealand a 7-0 lead before Kwagga Smith levelled for South Africa after some good build up play from Cecil Afrika and Werner Kok.

Goodhue broke a second half deadlock for the defending Wellington Sevens champions, with a 50-metre dash to the line for a 12-7 lead before Ioane was next to score for New Zealand, securing their berth in the Cup final.

Quarter Finals:
New Zealand 26-7 Australia
Kenya 5-19 South Africa
Fiji 21-26 England
USA 15-19 Scotland

Earlier, England needing sudden death extra-time in their 26-21 win over Fiji with Christian Lewis-Pratt breaking the deadlock, while Scotland came from 15-0 behind to snatch a late 19-15 win over the USA with James Fleming scoring twice.

Trailing 5-0, the current Series leaders South Africa switched into gear to defeat Kenya 19-5, scoring three tries through Cecil Afrika, Frankie Horne and Justin Geduld as they attempted to win their third consecutive title.

Defending champions and hosts New Zealand caught Australia napping early, racing away to a 19-0 lead early on through tries by Gillies Kaka, Sam Dickson and Joe Webber. Cameron Clark responded just shy of half-time to reduce the margin to 12 but Kaka’s second put the match beyond reach for Geraint John’s men.

Plate final: Fiji 24-0 Australia

Plate Semi Finals:
Kenya 5-21 Australia
USA 10-12 Fiji

Fiji were too strong for Australia scoring five unanswered tries in their 24-0 victory. A scoreless first half was looming before Fiji’s Osea Kolinisau broke the deadlock on the stroke of half time after a deft pass from Semi Kunatani gave the Pacific islanders a 7-0 lead. Fiji came out full of running in the second stanza, Sitiveni Waqa then Kunatani scoring in quick succession to shut Autralia out. Samisoni Viriviri put an exclamation mark on the win with a late try.

Earlier, Fiji beat the USA 12-10 holding off a second half fightback from the Eagles to advance to the Plate final, while Australia defeated Kenya 21-5.

Bowl final: France 27-5 Argentina

Bowl Semi Finals:
Argentina 47-12 Portugal
France 43-0 Wales

Four tries in the opening half, including a double to French flyer Virimi Vakatawa who impressed with every touch all weekend, gave Les Blues a 22-0 advantage over Argentina at half time before Stephen Parez secured a 27-5 victory.

Earlier, France advanced to the final defeating Wales 43-0 in scoring seven unanswered tries including two from Vakatawa who continued his impressive form at the tournament. Los Pumas easily accounted for Portugal 47-12 in their semi-final, Santiago Cordero and German Schultz both scoring braces.

Shield final: Samoa 10-26 Canada

Canada claimed the honours in the Shield final defeating Samoa 26-10. Trailing 5-0 after Samoa’s Gregory Foe scored five minutes in, Canada hit back with a try either side of half time through Harry Jones and John Moonlight to lead 14-5. Further tries to Canada’s Lucas Hammond and Admir Cejvanovic gave them an unassailable lead.

With thanks to World Rugby