New Rebels deal for McMahon

Date published: January 29 2015

Wallabies back-row Sean McMahon has re-committed to the Melbourne Rebels and Australian Rugby until the end of the 2017 season.

Rebels head coach Tony McGahan is thrilled to secure Sean’s services for an extended period.

“Sean has made a wonderful impact at the Rebels, despite still being just 20 years of age,” McGahan told the Melbourne Rebels’ official website.

“He has demonstrated an ability to succeed at Super Rugby level, and clearly he is going to get better.

“Everybody at the club is delighted that Sean sees the Rebels as the best place to continue to improve, and we’re looking forward to his continual growth both on and off the field.”

For McMahon, staying at the Rebels was an easy decision.

“Being down here in Melbourne, and around the guys in this squad, is something I want to continue,” he said.

“I can see the future of the Rebels getting better, and in the next few years we will continue to build towards an eventual premiership under this coaching staff; I want to be a part of that.

“The way I have always worked is that I let my manager do the deal and I just play the footy, so I said to him I wanted to stay here and let’s make it happen.

” love it down here and being part of this group, and now I can focus on playing with this decision already made.”

McMahon capped an outstanding first season as professional 15-a-side player by making his Wallabies’ debut on the 2014 Spring Tour, playing three Tests for his country, after also winning the Australian Super Rugby Rookie of the Year and the Rebels’ own awards equivalent.

It capped a meteoric rise for McMahon, who at 17 years of age was the youngest ever Australian Sevens representative, and returned to the sport for a brief period in 2014 to win a Commonwealth Games Bronze Medal.

He also captained Australia U20s to the IRB Junior World Rugby Championships, his second year in the team, and won the National Rugby Championship (NRC) Best Player award, as well as the Melbourne Rising’s Players’ Player Award.