Naiyaravoro fires for World XV

Date published: August 15 2015

Taqele Naiyaravoro staked his claim for a Wallaby World Cup spot with a hat-trick in the World XV's 45-20 win over Japan in Tokyo.

The side coached by Robbie Deans cruised to victory, running in five tries in total, with Fijian-born Naiyaravoro showing his finishing ability.

While Australia were being hammered by the All Blacks, a number of fringe candidates for their World Cup squad were in action, with 14 Australians in the matchday squad for the World XV.

They started slowly though, conceding an early try to Karne Hesketh as the Brave Blossoms took the lead on the quarter-hour.

Berrick Barnes had already slotted a couple of penalties, and midway through the half Naiyaravoro crashed over after good build-up work from Pierre Spies.

Barnes added two more penalties before the break to make it 19-7 to the visitors.

After Ayumu Goromaru had cut the deficit with a penalty, Naiyaravoro turned creator, leaping highest for Barnes' cross-kick before finding Andy Ellis for the try.

The All Black scrum-half crossed again on the hour, with Naiyaravoro once more very involved in the build-up as the World XV moved ahead 33-13.

Japan responded with a fine rolling maul, and were rewarded with a penalty try, while Ali Williams was sin-binned for pulling it down.

However they couldn't make the extra man count, and it was Naiyaravoro who had the final word with two late tries to complete his hat-trick.

The scorers:

For Japan:
Hesketh, Penalty
Cons: Goromaru, Tatekawa
Pens: Goromaru 2

For World XV:
Naiyaravoro 3, Ellis 2
Cons: Barnes 3, Harris
Pens: Barnes 4
Yellow card: Williams

Japan: 15 Ayumu Goromaru, 14 Karne Hesketh, 13 Kotaro Matsushima, 12 Male Sau, 11 Kenki Fukuoka, 10 Harumichi Tatekawa, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Ryu Koliniasi Holani, 7 Michael Leitch (c), 6 Hendrik Tui, 5 Justin Ives, 4 Luke Thompson, 3 Kensuke Hatakeyama, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Masataka Mikami.
Replacements: 16 Hisateru Hirashima, 17 Takeshi Kizu, 18 Hiroshi Yamashita, 19 Kazuhiko Usami, 20 Hayden Hopgood, 21 Atsushi Hiwasa, 22 Craig Wing, 23 Yoshikazu Fujita.

World XV: 15 James O'Connor, 14 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 13 Ben Tapuai, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Bakkies Botha (c), 4 Ali Williams, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 Luke Jones, 20 Sean McMahon, 21 Luke Burgess, 22 Mike Harris, 23 Dom Shipperley.

Venue: Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium, Tokyo
Referee: Andrew Lees (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Taizo Hirabayashi (Japan), Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
TMO: Takashi Harada (Japan)