Naholo starts for All Blacks

Date published: August 30 2015

New Zealand coach Steve Hansen has named his team to face Georgia in the Pool C clash at Millennium Stadium in Cardiff on Friday.

He has made 10 changes to the starting line-up that defeated Namibia on 24 September. This is two fewer than the 12 changes he made going into that match against Namibia.

Waisake Naholo will make his Rugby World Cup debut on the right wing. This leaves Liam Messam as the only player in the current All Blacks squad without any World Cup experience.

Interestingly, there are two scrum-halves on the bench in the form of Tawera Kerr-Barlow and TJ Perenara

Sam Whitelock, Jerome Kaino and Julian Savea will all be making a third start at Rugby World Cup 2015.

Back in the starting line-up is Daniel Carter, the all-time leading points scorer in Test history on 1,532.

Richie McCaw extends the world record for test appearances to 145. He also extends the RWC appearance record by an All Black to 19 matches and is now only three shy of the competition record of 22 set by England's Jason Leonard.

Ma'a Nonu is not in the 23 and will have to wait to become the sixth All Black to make his 100th career Test appearance.

New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw(c) 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Wyatt Crockett. 
Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Tony Woodcock, 18 Owen Franks, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 TJ Perenara, 23 Malakai Fekitoa.

Date: Friday, October 2
Venue: Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 20:00 local (19:00 GMT)
Referee: Pascal Gauzère (France)
Assistant referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Mathieu Raynal (France)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)