Munster shocked at home by Edinburgh

Date published: September 5 2014

Edinburgh stunned Munster on home soil, recording a 14-13 win to open their Pro12 campaign in style at Thomond Park.

Edinburgh stunned Munster on home soil, recording a 14-13 win to open their Pro12 campaign in style.

Munster headed into the new season looking to build on last season's semi-final appearance, while Edinburgh were seeking an improvement on previous showings.

Two penalties in the first ten minutes of the match gave visitors Edinburgh the ideal start, with Tom Heathcote punishing Munster indiscipline on both occasions.

Defences dominated in the opening half, and it wasn't until the 36th minute that either try-line was broken.

After Tomas Leonardi was sin-binned for Edinburgh, CJ Stander crashed over for the hosts, though the missed conversion preserved the Scots' one-point advantage.

And Heathcote's third penalty shortly after sent Edinburgh into half-time with a four-point advantage.

Leonardi was still waiting to return when the visitors were reduced to 13 men, with Hamish Watson this time being shown the yellow card.

But Edinburgh overcame their numerical disadvantage and even extended their lead when back up to 14 men, with Jack Cuthbert latching onto Sam Beard's grubber kick.

The conversion was missed but the visitors held a nine-point lead.

Munster staged a fightback in the final quarter of the match and enjoyed the lion's share of possession and territory.

Stander grabbed his second try of the game on the hour when he chimed in at just the right moment to finish off a flowing attack, but Keatley was again wide with the extras.

Keatley did knock over a penalty ten minutes from full-time to narrow the deficit to just one point, but the hosts were unable to find another score to win the game despite a late yellow card for WP Nel.

The scorers:

For Munster:
Tries: Stander 2
Penalty: Keatley

For Edinburgh:
Try: Cuthbert
Penalties: Heathcote 3
Yellow cards: Leonardi, Watson, Nel

The teams:

Munster: 15 Ronan O'Mahony, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Johne Murphy, 12 Andrew Smith, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Duncan Williams, 8 Shane Buckley, 7 Sean Dougall, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Billy Holland, 4 Donncha O'Callaghan (capt), 3 BJ Botha, 2 Kevin O'Byrne, 1 John Ryan.
Replacements: 16 Duncan Casey, 17 Alan Cotter, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Dave Foley, 20 Tommy O'Donnell, 21 Cathal Sheridan, 22 Johnny Holland, 23 Ivan Dineen.

Edinburgh: 15 Jack Cuthbert, 14 Dougie Fife, 13 Sam Beard, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Greig Tonks, 9 Sean Kennedy, 8 Cornell Du Preez, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Tomas Leonardi, 5 Ollie Atkins, 4 Fraser McKenzie, 3 John Andress, 2 Ross Ford (capt), 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Replacements: 16 James Hilterbrand, 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 WP Nel, 19 Ben Toolis, 20 Mike Coman, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Nick McLennan, 23 Phil Burleigh.

Referee: Leighton Hodges (Wales)