Munster name fully-loaded squad for two-game South Africa tour

Adam Kyriacou
Oli Jager Munster Champions Cup 2023 - Alamy.jpg

Munster tighthead prop Oli Jager.

Munster have been buoyed by fitness boosts for several players, including RG Snyman, Oli Jager, Shane Daly and Calvin Nash, ahead of their trip to South Africa.

Injuries have been an issue for the team this season and that was compounded by an illness that hit the squad ahead of their recent fixture against Northampton.

Snyman was one of those players to miss that match while it was clear several other players were struggling during the Champions Cup loss at Franklin’s Gardens.

Strong touring squad

However, with a vital visit to South Africa that could make or break their hopes of a home United Rugby Championship play-off tie, several stars have returned.

Snyman and Daly, who were named in the side to face the Saints before pulling out due to illness and injury respectively, are named in the Munster touring party.

Ireland wing Nash is also included alongside international tighthead prop Jager while Fineen Wycherley is back in a selection that includes many Six Nations stars.

Ireland skipper Peter O’Mahony, fresh after inking a new contract, is included alongside the likes of Tadhg Beirne, Gavin Coombes, Thomas Ahern and Alex Kendellen.

Champions Cup Team of the Week: ‘Freakish’ Ireland winger and the Harlequins ‘architect’ light up wild quarter-finals

There’s plenty of international talent in the backline options too as Craig Casey, Conor Murray and Jack Crowley are named as Munster look for success on the road.

Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell and Rory Scannell travel as centres while Daly, Nash, Sean O’Brien, Simon Zebo and Mike Haley are options in the wide channels.

Two Munster Academy players will head to South Africa, scrum-half Ethan Coughlan and prop Mark Donnelly, in a squad that’s made up of 17 forwards and 13 backs.

After facing the Bulls in Pretoria on Saturday, Munster will take on the Lions in Johannesburg in two difficult meetings at altitude that will test the team’s fitness.

Munster squad

Forwards: Scott Buckley, Eoghan Clarke, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, Mark Donnelly, Oli Jager, Jeremy Loughman, Josh Wycherley, Tom Ahern, Tadhg Beirne, RG Snyman, Fineen Wycherley, Gavin Coombes, John Hodnett, Alex Kendellen, Jack O’Donoghue, Peter O’Mahony

Backs: Craig Casey, Ethan Coughlan, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery, Jack Crowley, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Rory Scannell, Shane Daly, Mike Haley, Calvin Nash, Sean O’Brien, Simon Zebo

READ MORE: ‘The best is yet to come’ – Dan Sheehan inks new Ireland and Leinster deal