Munster leave it late against Edinburgh

Date published: April 29 2016

Munster ran in four tries in an impressive 27-19 win over Edinburgh at Thomond Park in the PRO12 on Friday.

The first half saw Munster score three tries through Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo and Andrew Conway, with Johnny Holland kicking five points. 

All of Edinburgh's first half points came from fly-half Jason Tovey via one try and eight points off the tee. 

The second-half saw Munster score one further try courtesy of centre Francis Saili, with Edinburgh kicking six points through Tovey and replacement Sam Hidalgo-Clyne. 

Munster were the favourites going into this fixture, and they opened the scoring six minutes in when Rory Scannell crossed after a long wide pass from Conway. The visitors opened their account on 15 minutes with a penalty from Tovey. He also scored Edinburgh's only five pointer of the match, a few minutes later and converted his own try to give Edinburgh a 10-7 lead. 

A penalty from Holland levelled the scores for the home side before Zebo crossed the try line, Holland was unsuccessful with the conversion. 

Munster grabbed their third try just before the break when Conway crossed the line. A late penalty from Tovey reduced the lead to seven points as the teams went into half time. 

Edinburgh started the half with another Tovey penalty reducing the gap to just three points. Both sides pressed, but neither were able to make the crucial break as the game entered the final quarter. 

Edinburgh reduced Munster's lead to a single point after replacement scrum-half Hidalgo-Clyne kicked his first penalty of the match. 

The home side sealed the bonus points in the final few minutes through Saili, with Holland's conversion taking Edinburgh out of losing bonus point range.


For Munster:
Tries: R Scannell, Zebo, Conway, Saili
Cons: Holland 2
Pen: Holland

For Edinburgh:
Try: Tovey
Con: Tovey
Pens: Tovey 3, Hidalgo-Clyne

Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Francis Saili, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Johnny Holland, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander (c), 7 Tommy O'Donnell, 6 Dave O'Callaghan, 5 Billy Holland, 4 Dave Foley, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Mike Sherry, 17 James Cronin, 18 John Ryan, 19 Robin Copeland, 20 Jack O'Donoghue, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Ronan O'Mahony

Edinburgh: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Damien Hoyland, 13 Matt Scottt, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Tom Brown, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Sean Kennedy, 8 Cornell du Preez, 7 John Hardie, 6 Jamie Ritchie, 5 Ben Toolis, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ross Ford (c) 1 Alasdair Dickinson
Replacements: 16 Stuart McInally 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 John Andress, 19 Alex Toolis, 20 Magnus Bradbury, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Chris Dean, 23 Dougie Fife

Referee: Ian Davies (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Dudley Phillips (Ireland), Nigel Correll (Ireland)
TMO: Brian MacNeice (Ireland)