Moriarty starts for young Wales side

Date published: August 4 2015

Ross Moriarty is one of four uncapped players in Wales' starting side for Saturday's warm-up game against Ireland in Cardiff.

The former England U20s back-row will start at blindside flanker, with winger Eli Walker, lock Dominic Day and centre Tyler Morgan also making their Test bows.

Scott Williams will lead the side, while James Hook and Mike Phillips will offer an experienced half-back pairing for Warren Gatland's side.

Moriarty starts in the back-row alongside Ospreys duo Justin Tipuric and Dan Baker, with Day joining Jake Ball in the second-row.

Up front Aaron Jarvis gets the nod in the problematic tighthead position, with no place for Tomas Francis in the matchday squad.

Nicky Smith is back from injury at loosehead while Richard Hibbard will get the chance to stake his claim for a starting role at hooker.

Alex Cuthbert will hope to do similar on the wing, while Hallam Amos joins fellow Dragons youngster Morgan in the backline, as he starts at full-back.

"Saturday is a real opportunity for these players to put their hand up," said Gatland.

"We have been really impressed over the last few weeks, we have put the players under a lot of pressure and they have responded really well.

"Today is their opportunity to show what they can do on the international stage.

"We have the right blend of youth and experience and it's all about grasping the chance at this level.

"It's going to be a huge occasion, Ireland coming to town, a packed Millennium Stadium and players with everything to play for."

Gareth Anscombe should also make his Test debut after being named on the bench, with Kristian Dacey the other uncapped player in the 23.

Wales: 15 Hallam Amos, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Scott Williams (c), 11 Eli Walker, 10 James Hook, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Dan Baker, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Dominic Day, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Aaron Jarvis, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Nicky Smith.
Replacements: 16 Rob Evans, 17 Kristian Dacey, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 James King, 20 Taulupe Faletau, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Gareth Anscombe, 23 Matthew Morgan.

Date: Saturday, 8 August
Venue: Millennium Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-Off: 14:30 local (13:30 GMT)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), Mathieu Raynal (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)