Makos cruise into semis

Date published: October 16 2016

Tasman secured third position and a Mitre 10 Cup semi-final after they beat Southland 56-0 at Trafalgar Park on Sunday, running in eight tries.

A trip to Taranaki next Sunday will be Tasman’s reward for this victory while Canterbury will host Counties Manukau in the other semi-final.

The Makos went over eight times in Nelson with the returning James Lowe impressing with offloads and carries. He was one of the scorers.

Tasman were 21-0 up at the break thanks to tries from Pete Samu, Andrew Makalio and Lowe, with Mitch Hunt kicking the extra six points.

But after the turnaround the home side cut loose with Viliami Lolohea, Jesse MacDonald, Alex Nankivell, Alex Ainley and Caleb Makene crossing in an easy win over the Stags, who finish sixth in the Championship.

The scorers:

For Tasman:
Tries: Samu, Makalio, Lowe, Lolohea, MacDonald, Nankivell, Ainley, Makene
Cons: Hunt 5, O’Mally

Tasman: 15 Caleb Makene, 14 Viliami Lolohea, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 David Kaetau Havili, 11 James Lowe, 10 Mitch Hunt, 9 Billy Guyton, 8 Peter Samu, 7 Shane Christie, 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Pari Pari Parkinson, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Andrew Makalio, 1 Tim Perry
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Kane Hames, 18 Siua Halanukonuka, 19 Quinten Strange, 20 Ethan Blackadder, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Tim O’Mally, 23 Alex Nankivell

Southland: 15 Junior Ngaluafe, 14 Tauasosi Tuimavave, 13 Dylan Collier, 12 James Schrader, 11 Mike Molloy, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Mikaele Mafi, 7 Tim Boys, 6 Bill Fukofuka, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Joshua Clark, 3 Morgan Mitchell, 2 Brayden Mitchell, 1 Joe Walsh
Replacements: 16 Jason Rutledge, 17 Guy Millar, 18 Shaun Stodart, 19 Michael Stewart, 20 Phil Halder, 21 Wade McRae, 22 Michael Dowsett, 23 Greg Dyer

Referee: Angus Mabey