Boshoff misses out on selection

Date published: February 22 2016

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has announced a 27-man touring squad, captained by Warren Whiteley, for their Super Rugby tour to Japan and New Zealand.

One-Test Springbok Marnitz Boshoff is the surprise omission from the three-game squad, with Ackermann opting for Elton Jantjies and Jaco van der Walt at 10.

The Lions kick off their campaign in Tokyo on Saturday, 27 February against the Sunwolves. This is followed by matches against the Chiefs (March 5, Hamilton) and Highlanders (March 12, Dunedin).

The team departs for Japan on Tuesday, February 23.

The Lions will play in their black away jersey in this first ever historic Super Rugby game in Japan against the new acquisition side the Sunwolves.

CEO of the Golden Lions Rugby Union, Rudolf Straeuli, said that no player who missed the cut for Super Rugby will be released to another union as they will fall in with the Currie Cup side with immediate effect.

“No contracted player will be released to other unions at this stage,” Straeuli confirmed.

Touring squad in alphabetical order:

Ruan Ackermann, Fabian Booysen, Andries Coetzee, Robbie Coetzee, Ruan Combrinck, Faf De Klerk, Ruan Dreyer, Andries Ferreira, Corne Fourie, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Elton Jantjies, Jaco Kriel, Robert Kruger, Lionel Mapoe, Malcolm Marx, Howard Mnisi, Franco Mostert, Julian Redelinghuys, Courtnall Skosan, Dillon Smit, Dylan Smith, Warwick Tecklenburg, Armand Van der Merwe, Jaco Van der Walt, Jacques Van Rooyen, Anthony Volmink, Harold Vorster, Warren Whiteley