Lions name extended squad for semi-final

Date published: July 26 2016

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has named a squad of 27 players for Saturday's Super Rugby semi-final against the Highlanders in Johannesburg.

There are no surprises with the only name worth mentioning being scrum-half Dillon Smit, who has been included as cover for Ross Cronjé, who will undergo a late fitness test after picking up an injury against in the Lions' quarter-final victory over the Crusaders last weekend.

bet365 new customer guide

Lions squad:

Forwards: Dylan Smith, Corne Fourie, Julian Redelinghuys, Jacques van Rooyen, Armand van der Merwe, Malcolm Marx, Lourens Erasmus, Franco Mostert, Andries Ferreira, Ruan Ackermann, Warwick Tecklenberg, Warren Whiteley, Jaco Kriel, Cyle Brink, Steph de Witt

Backs: Faf de Klerk, Ross Cronje, Dillon Smit, Elton Jantjies, Jaco van der Walt, Courtnall Skosan, Ruan Combrinck, Sylvian Mahuza, Howard Mnisi, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Lionel Mapoe, Andries Coetzee