Leicester get better of Harlequins

Date published: November 20 2016

Leicester moved into fourth place in the Premiership standings as they saw off the challenge of Harlequins, winning 25-6 at Welford Road.

The two sides traded penalties in the first-half, Nick Evans scored two but Freddie Burns bagged three to give Leicester a 9-6 lead at half-time.

Burns scored another penalty early in the second-half and set up Owen Williams for the first try of the match with a chip over the Harlequins defence. Burns kicked the conversion and a penalty later on to seal the win for Leicester.

The last five fixtures between the two clubs in the Premiership had all been won by the home side.

Leicester conceded a penalty for not releasing and Evans put Harlequins 0-3 in front ten minutes in.

Burns got the home side in front with two three pointers of his own. But Evans managed to level the scores with another penalty 23 minutes in.

Burns ended the first-half on a positive note for Leicester with another shot at the posts to make it 9-6 going into the break.

The Tigers fly-half stretched the lead to six points with yet another penalty early in the second-half and then bagged another three points this time with a drop-goal in front of the posts.

Williams then gathered a delicate little chip from Burns for the game's first try. And it was Burns again who added the conversion to make it 22-6.

Both teams saw yellow on the 70 minute mark when Michael Fitzgerald spear tackled James Chisholm whose reaction saw him leave the field.

Fittingly Burns got the last points of the match with yet another penalty to secure victory for Leicester with the final score 25-6.

The scorers:

For Leicester:
Try: Williams
Con: Burns
Pens: Burns 5
Drop-Goal Burns
Yellow Card: Fitzgerald (70 min)

For Harlequins:
Pens: Evans 2
Yellow Card: Chisholm (70 min)

Leicester: 15 Mathew Tait, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Peter Betham, 12 Owen Williams, 11 Tom Brady, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Jono Kitto, 8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 Brendon O’Connor, 6 Tom Croft, 5 Mike Fitzgerald, 4 Ed Slater, 3 Greg Bateman, 2 Tom Youngs (c), 1 Ellis Genge
Replacements: 16 Harry Thacker, 17 Marcos Ayerza, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Graham Kitchener, 20 Luke Hamilton, 21 Sam Harrison, 22 Jack Roberts, 23 George Worth

Harlequins: 15 Aaron Morris, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Winston Stanley, 11 Alofa Alofa, 10 Nick Evans, 9 Karl Dickson, 8 James Chisholm, 7 Dave Ward, 6 Luke Wallace, 5 James Horwill (c), 4 Charlie Matthews, 3 Will Collier, 2 Rob Buchanan, 1 Dan Murphy
Replacements: 16 Matt Shields, 17 Owen Evans, 18 Adam Jones, 19 Stan South, 20 George Naoupu, 21 Charlie Mulchrone, 22 Tim Swiel, 23 Charlie Walker

Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Assistant Referees: Paul Burton, Nigel Carrick
TMO: David Grashoff