Legendary Welshman Alun Wyn Jones to lead Barbarians against World XV in Killik Cup

Dylan Coetzee
Barbarians captain Alun Wyn Jones during a training session

Alun Wyn Jones during a Barbarians training session.

Wales legend and rugby union’s most capped player Alun Wyn Jones will captain the Eddie Jones-coached Barbarians against a World XV side at Twickenham on Sunday, only weeks after retiring from Test rugby.

The second-row makes his first appearance for the historic club alongside South African and Premiership star Stephan Lewies in the engine room.

Meanwhile, Argentine tighthead Enrique Pieretto starts in the front-row alongside Australian-born England international hooker Nic Dolly, with veteran Alex Waller completing the tight five.

Dual international superstar number eight Steven Luatua starts at the back of the scrum with Japanese star Kai Yamamoto and Welshman Aaron Wainwright on the flanks.

Electric backline

In the backline, Exeter Chiefs scrum-half Jack Maunder joins the flair-filled Wallaby fly-half Quade Cooper in an intriguing half-back pairing. The Australian has been selected as the vice-captain.

The famous club boasts a barnstorming centre pairing in Wallabies centre Samu Kerevi and another dual international Seta Tamanivalu.

New Zealander turned Welshman Gareth Anscombe starts at full-back alongside Englishman Adam Radwan and the hot-stepping Tevita Li in the back-three.

On the pine, Premiership hooker Harry Thacker takes his place next to Tom West and South African scrummaging sensation Carlu Sadie as front-row options. Wallabies veteran Rob Simmons and Tonga heavyweight Sione Vailanu are the remaining forward substitutions.

South African scrum-half Francois Hougaard is the first of the backline options on the bench and he is joined by New Zealand veteran Aaron Cruden and Scot Sam Johnson.

It is set to be a fantastic occasion as the Barbarians battled it out with the World XV, coached by the great Steven Hansen for the Killik Cup.

The team

Barbarians: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Adam Radwan, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Samu Kerevi, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Jack Maunder, 8 Steven Luatua, 7 Kai Yamamoto, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Alun Wyn Jones (c), 3 Enrique Pieretto, 2 Nic Dolly, 1 Alex Waller
Replacements: 16 Harry Thacker, 17 Tom West, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Rob Simmons, 20, Sione Vailanu, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Aaron Cruden, 23 Sam Johnson

Date: Sunday, May 28
Venue: Twickenham Stadium
Kick-off: 15:00 BST (14:00 GMT)
Referee: TBC
Assistant Referees: TBC

READ MORE: Steve Hansen responds to decision to fly pride flag at Twickenham after Israel Folau selection