Legendary trio to be inducted into the Premiership Rugby Hall of Fame

Jared Wright
Matt Banahan, Brad Barritt and Tom Youngs Premiership Rugby's Hall of Fame in 2023.

Three players have been inducted into the Premiership Rugby Hall of Fame this year and will be honoured at the Final this weekend.

Bath and Gloucester legend Matt Banahan, Saracens stalwart Brad Barritt and one-club Leicester Tigers star Tom Youngs will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

2023 Premiership Rugby Hall of Fame inductees

Banahan scored 71 Premiership tries in over 200 league appearances across his stints with West Country neighbours Bath and Gloucester. The powerhouse back made 16 appearances for England and has since become a citing commissioner for the RFU.

Former Saracens captain Barritt is also honoured in the 2023 Hall of Fame, with 191 appearances in the famous black jersey. The centre won five Premiership titles with the London club between 2011 and 2019, as well as three Champions Cups. He also earned 26 Test caps for England and represented the British and Irish Lions in 2013. 

Finally, Leicester legend Youngs made over 150 Premiership appearances during his 15 years at the club. He also earned 28 Test caps for England and three for the Lions in 2013.

Youngs famously started his career in the centres before moving to hooker and winning the Premiership title in 2013.

He took an indefinite leave from rugby in 2021 to give full support to his wife, Tiffany, as she faced a prolonged battle with cancer. The club captain’s impact was still felt throughout the season, and he lifted the Premiership trophy alongside Ellis Genge in last season’s final.

“The 2023 inductees to the Premiership Rugby Hall of Fame have been outstanding rugby players who made a monumental contribution to the success of their Clubs and England,” rugby director at Premiership Rugby Phil Winstanley said.

“Beyond their brilliance on the pitch, all three are also great people and have been terrific ambassadors for the Premiership and our sport over many years.”

Premiership Rugby Hall of Fame 

2023 Inductees: Matt Banahan, Brad Barritt and Tom Youngs.
2022 Inductees: Will Greenwood, Trevor Woodman and Tom Varndell.
2021 Inductees: Steve Thompson, Christian Day, Paul Grayson and Andy Goode.
2020 Inductees: No one was inducted due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
2019 Inductees: Matt Dawson, Nick Evan and Jason Leonard.
2017 Inductees: Nick Easter, Ben Kay, Kyran Bracken, Steve Borthwick and Jason Robinson.
2016 Inductees: Mike Tindall, Neil Back, Richard Hill, Mark Cueto and Hugh Vyvyan.
2015 Inductees: Jonny Wilkinson, Lawrence Dallaglio, Josh Lewsey, Phil Vickery, James Simpson-Daniel, Peter Wheeler and Simon Shaw.
2014 Inductees: Lewis Moody, Martin Johnson, Ed Morrison (Match Official) and the late Tom Walkinshaw.
2013 Inductees: Geordan Murphy, George Chuter and Charlie Hodgson.

2007-2011 era: Chris Robshaw (2008-09 and 2011-12), Chris Ashton (2009-10), Tom Wood (2010-11), Dean Ryan (2007-08), Richard Cockerill (2008-09), Andy Key (2009-10), Jim Mallinder (2010-11) and Rob Baxter (2011-12).
2003-2007 era: Martin Corry (2004-05), Mike Catt (2005-06), Martin Castrogiovanni (2006-07), John Connolly (2003-04), John Wells (2004-05), Philippe Saint-Andre (2005-06), Pat Howard (2006-07).
1997-2003 era: Andy Robinson (1999-2000), Dean Richards (2000-01), Conor O’Shea/Brendan Venter (2001-02), Warren Gatland (2002-03), Pat Lam (97-98), Austin Healey (1999-2000), Iain Balshaw (2000-01), Jake Boer (2002-03).

READ MORE: Alun Wyn Jones to lead Barbarians against World XV in Killik Cup