Late bonus point for Leinster

Date published: February 20 2015

Sean Cronin handed Leinster a late try bonus point as they came from behind to defeat Zebre 29-8 at The RDS in Dublin.

Surprisingly it was Zebre who were in the lead at half-time thanks to a try for Hennie Daniller and a penalty for Mirco Bergamasco.

Leinster managed to get some points on the board in the first half with a penalty for Jimmy Gopperth bringing the score to 3-8 at half time.

Zebre did not claim any points in the second half as Leinster showed their class. It was four tries and the bonus point for the Irish side as Dominic Ryan, Gopperth, Luke Fitzgerald and Sean Cronin all claimed five points to give their side the 29-8 victory.

Bottom of the league Zebre got the first points on the board with a brilliantly worked try. The ball was passed out wide to open up a gap in the Leinster defence and a couple of clever passes found Daniller who sailed over the line for the try.

Leinster had a try disallowed on 30 minutes but managed to scrape some points in the first half with a penalty for Gopperth.

However, Zebre were awarded another penalty on 36 minutes and Bergamasco kicked it successfully to give his team a 3-8 lead at half-time.

Leinster opened up the scoring in the second half when they burst through the Zebre defence and Ryan managed to finish off the job when he crashed over the line for the try.

Ten minutes later, Gopperth stepped inside the defender from the scrum and dived over the line for another Leinster try.

In the final ten minutes of the game, Fitzgerald also managed to find the try line and on 80 minutes, Cronin claimed the fourth and crucial bonus point try for his team to wrap up the victory.

The scorers:

For Leinster:
Tries: Ryan, Gopperth, Fitzgerald, Cronin
Cons: Gopperth 3
Pens: Gopperth

For Zebre:
Try: Daniller
Pen: Mi Bergamasco

Leinster: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Ben Te'o, 12 Gordon D'Arcy, 11 Luke Fitzgerald, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Eoin Reddan, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Shane Jennings (c), 6 Dominic Ryan, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Mike McCarthy, 3 Marty Moore, 2 Aaron Dundon, 1 Michael Bent.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Ben Marshall, 20 Dan Leavy, 21 Isaac Boss, 22 Cathal Marsh, 23 Dave Kearney.

Zebre: 15 Hendrik Daniller, 14 Dion Berryman, 13 Mirco Bergamasco, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Michele Visentin, 10 Luciano Orquera, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Samuela Vunisa, 7 Mauro Bergamasco (c), 6 Jacopo Sarto, 5 Michele Sutto, 4 Valerio Bernabò, 3 Luciano Leibson, 2 Oliviero Fabiani, 1 Andrea De Marchi.
Replacements: 16 Lorenzo Giovanchelli, 17 Laert Naka, 18 Luca Redolfini, 19 Giacomo Bernini, 20 Ruben Riccioli, 21 Alberto Chillon, 22 Edoardo Padovani, 23 David Odiete.

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Kieran Barry (Ireland), Stuart Douglas (Ireland)
TMO: Dermot Moloney (Ireland)