Ireland name squad for Chicago showdown

Date published: October 26 2016

The Ireland coaching team have announced their squad of 34 players that will prepare for the fixture against New Zealand on November 5.

There are six uncapped players named among the 34-man squad with Joey Carbery, Billy Holland, Luke McGrath, Garry Ringrose, John Ryan and James Tracy all included.

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt said it hard picking a squad.

"Selections were difficult as always, trying to balance form, fitness, experience, combinations plus assess those players returning from injury or those carrying minor knocks or strains," Schmidt said.

"With more than half the squad likely to be involved in Pro12 action this weekend, plus the need to factor in the travel and fatigue from the Chicago fixture, there are also a number of players on standby who are likely to be involved during the first two weeks of the Series."

Ireland Squad:

Forwards: Finlay Bealham, Tadgh Furlong, Cian Healy, Jack McGrath, John Ryan, Rory Best (c), Sean Cronin, James Tracy, Ultan Dillane, Iain Henderson, Billy Holland, Donnacha Ryan, Devin Toner, Jamie Heaslip, Jordi Murphy, Sean O'Brien, Peter O'Mahony, CJ Stander, Josh van der Flier

Backs: Kieran Marmion, Conor Murray, Luke McGrath, Joey Carbery, Jonathan Sexton, Paddy Jackson, Robbie Henshaw, Luke Marshall, Garry Ringrose, Rob Kearney, Jared Payne, Keith Earls, Craig Gilroy, Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo