Horne cited for tip tackle

Date published: May 31 2015

Waratahs winger Rob Horne has been cited for a tip tackle during the defeat to the Lions on Saturday.

The versatlie Wallaby back was sin-binned for a dangerous tackle on Lionel Mapoe in the first half of the game in Johannesburg.

Horne is alleged to have contravened 10.4 (j) Lifting Tackle, in an incident which occurred in the 27th minute of the Super Rugby match between the Lions and Waratahs at Emirates Airlines Park in Johannesburg on 30 May 2015.

The referee for the match, Jaco Peyper, issued a yellow card for the incident. Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

The citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Adam Casselden.