Henry Slade takes top prize at the Premiership Rugby Awards as England sensation rewarded

Jared Wright
Exeter Chiefs stars Henry Slade and Immanuel Feyi-Waboso in action during the Premiership.

Exeter's star backs have been rewarded for their form this Premiership season.

The 2023/24 Premiership Rugby Awards winners have been announced at a night of celebration in London.

The big winners on the night were Exeter Chiefs star Henry Slade and Northampton Saints boss Phil Dowson, who claimed the Player and Director of Rugby of the Season, respectively.

Award winners

Slade claimed the illustrious Player of the Season award after a standout campaign with Exeter Chiefs as he finished the season as the top points scorer in the league after crossing for five tries and racking up 127 points from the tee.

Henry Slade has had a memorable season from start to finish, after missing out on the Rugby World Cup in France. He led a young, new-look Exeter Chiefs side to within touching distance of the play-offs,” CEO of Premiership Rugby Simon Massie-Taylor said.

“Henry is a world-class player and this season has also won a number of games with a clutch kick in the last play – so is a worthy winner of the Gallagher Player of the Season.

Meanwhile, his teammate Immanuel Feyi-Waboso claimed the Breakthrough Player of the Season with his outstanding form with Exeter Chiefs seeing him earn a Test debut for England during the 2024 Six Nations.

“Immanuel Feyi-Waboso’s season is a breakthrough in every sense of the word,” Massie-Taylor added.

“From University and National League Rugby to become one of the Gallagher Premiership and England’s shining stars in the space of a season is an incredible achievement. I can’t wait to follow his career at Exeter Chiefs.”

Premiership Team of the Season: Northampton dominate, Sale snubbed as just one Saracen features

Saints boss rewarded

After guiding Northampton Saints to a top of the table finish after the regular season, Dowson was awarded the Director of Rugby of the Season.

“Taking Northampton Saints from the play-off positions to top of the league makes Phil Dowson the obvious choice for Director of Rugby of the Season,” Massie-Taylor said.

“On top of that, he has improved a young batch of English talent to become stars of Premiership Rugby and then England regulars, which is testament to the outstanding job Phil is doing in Northampton.”

Meanwhile, Tyrone Green was awarded the Premiership Try of the Season for his incredible finish against Newcastle Falcons while Andy Christie of Saracens was named the Community Player of the Season.

Saints flyer Ollie Sleightholme took home the Premiership Rugby Top Try Scorer award with 14 tries in a stellar season for the league leaders.

Lastly, referee Wayne Barnes was given a Special Recognition Award after retiring this season on the back of officiating the Rugby World Cup 2023 Final.

Premiership ins and outs: The complete list of the 2024/25 player transfers

2023/24 Premiership Rugby Award Winners

Player of the Season: Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Breakthrough Player of the Season: Immanuel Feyi-Waboso (Exeter Chiefs)
Director of Rugby of the Season: Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints)
Community Player of the Season: Andy Christie (Saracens)
Top Try Scorer: Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints)
Top Points Scorer: Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Special Recognition Award: Wayne Barnes
Try of the Season: Tyrone Green v Newcastle Falcons

The judges for the Premiership Rugby Awards 2023/24: Ali Eykyn (TNT Sports), Ugo Monye (BBC, TNT Sports), Jill Douglas (ITV, BBC), Ashleigh Wilmot (Eurosport, TNT Sports), Rugby Inside Line, Alex Lowe (The Times), Hugh Godwin (i), Nick Mullins (TNT Sports), and Chris Jones (BBC).