Heaslip to captain Ireland

Date published: September 25 2015

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has made wholesale changes to his starting XV for Sunday's World Cup fixture against Romania at Wembley Stadium.

Ireland, currently second in Pool D, make the trip to Wembley, having recorded an emphatic victory against Canada in their World Cup opener.

While they have enjoyed decent turnaround time since that fixture, squad rotation was clearly taken into consideration this week.

Jamie Heaslip will lead the Ireland team from back of the scrum and will be joined by Chris Henry and Jordi Murphy in the back row. 

Devin Toner is partnered in the second row by Donnacha Ryan while Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss and Nathan White make up the front row.

Eoin Reddan and Ian Madigan link up at halfback with Darren Cave and Jared Payne in the centre while the back three sees Simon Zebo fill the number 15 jersey with Tommy Bowe and Keith Earls in the wing positions.

Ireland: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Darren Cave, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Eoin Reddan, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Chris Henry, 6 Jordi Murphy, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Nathan White, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Paul O'Connell, 20 Sean O'Brien, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Paddy Jackson, 23 Rob Kearney

Date:Sunday, September 27
Venue: Wembley Stadium
Kick-off: 16:45 local
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assitant referees: Leighton Hodges (Wales),Romain Poite (France)
Television Match Official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)