Gold names 40-man Sharks squad

Date published: February 10 2015

Sharks boss Gary Gold has announced a 40-man squad to do battle in this year’s Super Rugby competition which kicks off this weekend.

All the familiar names are there, a squad filled with depth in every position available to the leadership group of Bismarck du Plessis, Pat Lambie, Tera Mtembu and Francois Steyn.

Steyn, Ryan Kankowski and JP Pietersen are not yet with the squad as they are currently still completing their Japanese club commitments, as is new-signing Michael Claassens who is still with Toulon, but Jean Deysel reported for training on Monday morning while Willem Alberts, Paul Jordaan, Tonderai Chavhanga, JC Astle and Stephan Lewies are still part of the rehabilitation group and not yet ready to be considered for selection.

The Sharks kick off their 2015 campaign against the Cheetahs at Kings Park in Durban on Saturday.

Sharks Squad: Lourens Adriaanse, Mouritz Botha, Renaldo Bothma, Dale Chadwick, Michael Claassens, Marcell Coetzee, Kyle Cooper, Lionel Cronjé, Jean Deysel, Bismarck du Plessis (c), Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Thomas du Toit, Andre Esterhuizen, Monde Hadebe, Conrad Hoffmann Ryan Kankowski, Patrick Lambie, Khaya Majola, Franco Marais, SP Marais, Beast Mtawarira, Tera Mtembu, Lubabalo Mtyanda, Waylon Murray, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, Etienne Oosthuizen, Paul Perez, JP Pietersen, Cobus Reinach, S'bura Sithole, Matt Stevens, Frans Steyn, Stefan Ungerer, Marco Wentzel, Heimar Williams, Jack Wilson, Cameron Wright, Fred Zeilinga.