Glasgow go top after 1872 Cup win

Date published: December 27 2014

Glasgow moved to the top of the table after claiming a 16-6 victory over Edinburgh in the first leg of the 1872 Cup at Scotstoun Stadium on Saturday.

Both teams headed into the game in strong league form, though it’s the Warriors who will head into second leg of Cup with the advantage.

Alastair Kellock was the stand-out for Glasgow and his work in the middle of the park was a massive positive for the hosts. Edinburgh had plenty of opportunities to put points on the board, but their wastefulness in key positions let Glasgow off the hook on more than one occasion.

Duncan Weir and Sam Hidalgo-Clyne traded penalties during the opening quarter to keep the scores level, but Glasgow found an extra gear to head in to half-time with the advantage.

Weir added a second penalty and then supplied the chip for Sean Lamont to snap up, before finding Peter Horne, who sent Josh Strauss over for a great try.

Weir added the conversion to make it 13-3 at half-time and he added a further penalty ten minutes from full-time, after Hidalgo-Clyne had made it a seven-point contest earlier in the second half.

Nikola Matawalu added some spark from the bench and had a try disallowed for Glasgow, which would have put the game to bed. But Edinburgh rarely threatened to force their way back into the contest during a quiet second half.

The scorers:

For Glasgow:
Try: Strauss
Con: Weir
Pens: Weir 3

For Edinburgh:
Pens: Hidalgo-Clyne, Heathcote

Glasgow: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Lamont, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Peter Horne, 11 DTH van der Merwe, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Henry Pyrgos, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Rob Harley, 6 Ryan Wilson, 5 Al Kellock (c), 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Pat MacArthur, 1 Ryan Grant.
Replacements: 16 Dougie Hall, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Jon Welsh, 19 Leone Nakarawa, 20 Tyrone Holmes, 21 Niko Matawalu, 22 Richie Vernon, 23 Sean Maitland.

Edinburgh: 15 Jack Cuthbert, 14 Dougie Fife, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Tom Brown, 10 Greig Tonks, 9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 8 David Denton, 7 Roddy Grant, 6 Mike Coman (c), 5 Ben Toolis, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 John Andress, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Replacements: 16 Neil Cochrane, 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 Willem Nel, 19 Fraser McKenzie, 20 Stuart McInally, 21 Grayson Hart, 22 Tom Heathcote, 23 Phil Burleigh.

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)