Gill cited for White throw

Date published: March 15 2015

Reds openside flanker Liam Gill has been cited for alleged foul play during their Super Rugby clash with the Brumbies in Brisbane on Saturday.

Back-row forward Gill is alleged to have contravened 10.4 (j) Lifting Tackle, in an incident which occurred in the 47th minute of a game the Reds lost.

"The referee for the match, Andrew Lees, referred the incident to the television match official and issued a yellow card. Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play," said SANZAR.

"The citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Robert Stelzner SC. 

"All SANZAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

"For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO."