Geraghty sinks Tigers at the death

Date published: September 27 2014

Shane Geraghty’s last-minute penalty handed London Irish a famous victory away at Leicester, winning 22-19 at Welford Road.

Irish suffered heartbreak in last week’s clash with Saracens, losing with a last-minute try, but held their nerve to secure a big win.

Leicester were also smarting from a hammering last time out, and suffered once again in front of their own fans.

The Tigers fell to their worst ever Premiership defeat last week against Bath, and things almost got worse for them when James Short dived over in the corner.

Fortunately for Richard Cockerill’s men, TMO David Sainsbury chalked off the score due to an obstruction in the build up.

That said, Leicester were still making needless mistakes, and fell 6-0 down after a couple of avoidable penalties.

Irish’s spoiling tactics were working very well, with Tigers feeding off scraps for most of the first half.

Burns did manage to get them off the mark with a well taken penalty.

With moments to go before half-time, the away side shocked the Welford Road crowd again, with Halani Aulika charging over from close range.

Burns hit back just before the break to make the score 13-6. Leicester came out the brighter side after the interval, with Burns narrowing the gap further with an early penalty.

Geraghty continued to cancel out the fly half though, smashing over another three points. The game was in the balance, with Leicester needing seven points to draw level.

Vereniki Goneva was the man to deliver five of those points for the Tigers. The Fijian was alert at the breakdown, sneaking over the line to a rapturous reception from the 21,682 strong crowd. Burns’ conversion made it 16 all.

Geraghty put the away side in the lead again, only for Owen Williams to hammer over a sensational penalty from 55 metres.

Irish’s accuracy from the boot proved the crucial factor, with Geraghty nailing the final penalty of the game to secure a surprise win.

The scorers:

For Leicester:
Try: Goneva
Conversion: Burns
Penalties: Burns 3, Williams
Yellow Card: Crane

For London Irish:
Try: Aulika
Conversion: Geraghty
Penalties: Geraghty 5
Yellow Card: Geraghty

The teams:

Leicester: 15 Mathew Tait, 14 Blaine Scully, 13 Vereniki Goneva, 12 Owen Williams, 11 Miles Benjamin, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Ben Youngs (c), 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Jamie Gibson, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Sebastian De Chaves, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Tom Bristow.
Replacements: 16 Neil Briggs, 17 Riccardo Brugnara, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Laurence Pearce, 20 Robert Barbieri, 21 Harry Wells, 22 Sam Harrison, 23 Matt Smith.

London Irish:15 Andrew Fenby, 14 Alex Lewington, 13 Fergus Mulchrone, 12 Shane Geraghty, 11 James Short, 10 Chris Noakes, 9 Scott Steele, 8 Luke Narraway, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Kieran Low, 5 Jebb Sinclair, 4 George Skivington (c), 3 Halani Aulika, 2 David Paice, 1 Tom Court.
Replacements: 16 Gerard Ellis 17 Matt Parr 18 Leo Halavatau 19 Dan Leo 20 Tom Guest 21 Tom