Fresh faces included in England U20 squad

Date published: January 19 2016

England U20s have included Darren Atkins and Calum Waters in their squad as they get their Six Nations title defence underway in the coming weeks.

The two fresh faces are replacing John Williams and Alex Mitchell in a virtually unchanged squad that won the tournament last year.

Interim head coach, Jon Callard, said that despite a change of coach – he replaced Ian Peel – the team will still carry on the same ethos with only minor adjustments that will hopefully push the youngsters into the senior frame for club and country.

"The mission for this group is to make other people shine," he said in a press release.

"It is about players being individually the best they can be, making the others the best they want to be.  This comes from having a strong work ethic and a team focus.

"We want to put the right processes in place to play exciting international rugby and to develop these aspiring international players for the future senior team.

"We had tough camps in August and December last year but have a number of changes for this week."

England U20 squad: Sam Aspland-Robinson, Darren Atkins, Joshua Bainbridge, Lewis Boyce, Theo Brophy Clews, Callum Chick, Andrew Kitchener, Max Malins, Harry Mallinder, Joseph Marchant, Jack Maunder, Zach Mercer, Joe Mullis, George Nott, Paolo Odogwu,George Perkins, Jake Pope, Taylor Prell, Mathew Protheroe, Will Safe, Jamie Shillcock, Jack, Samuel Smith, Stanley South, William Stuart, Huw Taylor, Oliver Thorley, Billy Walker, Jack Walker, Calum Waters, Tom West, Archie White.