Four up for top coach award

Date published: May 12 2015

Coaches at Bath, Exeter Chiefs, Northampton and Wasps are featured on the shortlist for the Guinness Director of Rugby of the Season award.

Premiership Rugby confirmed the list, with the 2010/11 winner, Northampton boss Jim Mallinder, joined by Mike Ford (Bath), Rob Baxter (Exeter Chiefs) and Dai Young (Wasps) on the four-man shortlist. Baxter is also a previous winner.

"We have some of the best coaches in the world within Aviva Premiership Rugby ensuring the judging panel had a tough job once again," said Phil Winstanley the Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby.

"All four have had very different challenges to face this season – both at home and in Europe – but have emerged from a compelling campaign with a huge amount of credit both inside and outside their clubs."

The shortlist is:

Rob Baxter – Exeter Chiefs
Mike Ford – Bath Rugby
Jim Mallinder – Northampton Saints
Dai Young – Wasps

The shortlist was compiled by a panel of media professionals – Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Stephen Jones (Sunday Times), Owen Slot (The Times), Ben Coles (Planet Rugby), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Mick Cleary (Daily Telegraph), Jill Douglas (Freelance), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Chris Jones (BBC Radio) and David Rogers (Getty Images). They were joined by Paul Morgan (Premiership Rugby's Communication Director) who chaired the panel.