Four leaders named by Sharks

Date published: January 30 2015

The Sharks have announced the appointment of their leadership group for Super Rugb, with hooker Bismarck du Plessis named as squad captain.

He will not be alone though as the Sharks have selected a core leadership group, which consists of four players who will direct the team in 2015.

Du Plessis, who led the Sharks in the 2014 campaign, has been named squad captain while fly-half Patrick Lambie, flanker Tera Mtembu and centre Frans Steyn are the three other players forming part of a senior quartet this season.

“The way the modern game is going it is not about individuals but a group of leaders who share ideas and work together as a team in order to achieve the desired results,” said Sharks director of rugby, Gary Gold.

“These four players have proven their leadership ability and commitment to the Cell C Sharks over the years and they will be able to rally the group and get the best out of their team-mates.”