Four changes from Lions

Date published: May 28 2015

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has named his 23-man squad to face the Waratahs at Ellis Park on Saturday, with four changes made to the XV.

In the forwards, Ackermann has revamped the starting front-row. Schalk van der Merwe will start at loosehead, Armand van der Merwe moves up into the starting side at hooker and Julian Redelinghuys comes in at tighthead.

Meanwhile, in the backline, the only change takes place at inside centre as Harold Vorster is promoted to the starting side.

On the bench, Malcolm Marx will cover the hooker berth while Corne Fourie and Marnitz Boshoff return to the matchday 23. Stokkies Hanekom is also a new inclusion to the side and will provide centre cover.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Martin Muller , 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Robert Kruger, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Marnitz Boshoff, 23 Stokkies Hanekom.

Date: Saturday, May 30
Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 19:10 local (03:10 AEST, 05:10 NZST, 17:10 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant referees: Jaco van Heerden, Pro Legote
TMO: Johan Greeff