Force rest Haylett-Petty for New Zealand tour

Date published: March 20 2017

The Western Force will take a 25-man squad on their tour of New Zealand, for the Round Five and Round Six matches against the Crusaders and the Blues.

Force legend Matt Hodgson comes back into the squad after recovering from a hamstring strain in the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens in February.

Lock Richie Arnold is in contention to make his Super Rugby debut, and the big hitting Anaru Rangi rounds out the changes to the forward pack.

In the back-line, experienced utility back Marcel Brache joins Alex Newsome in the squad, while Wallaby Dane Haylett-Petty will be rested.

Brynard Stander has been ruled out after aggravating his shoulder and Future Force Foundation forward Onehunga Havili Kaufusi has been omitted.

The Western Force travel to Christchurch first, as they are set to take on the Crusaders this Friday.

Western Force squad: Jermaine Ainsley, Richie Arnold, Marcel Brache, Robbie Coleman, Pek Cowan, Ben Daley, Tetera Faulkner, Ross Haylett-Petty, Richard Hardwick, Matt Hodgson, Kane Koteka, Jono Lance, Ryan Louwrens, Bill Meakes, Luke Morahan, Isireli Naisarani, Alex Newsome, Chance Peni, Matt Philip, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Ian Prior, Anaru Rangi, Curtis Rona, Michael Ruru, Heath Tessmann