Fiji name squad for Pacific Nations Cup

Date published: May 20 2016

Fiji head coach John McKee has selected his squad for the Pacific Nations Cup and the Test match against Georgia in June.

The team has an experienced look to it with players featuring who have been involved with the side over the past two years.

“This is a strong squad based largely on the team built over the past two years and at the same time taking the opportunity to introduce some younger players who have shown good form at Warriors level and deserve the opportunity to gain some experience at full international level with a view towards the 2019 Rugby World Cup,” McKee said.

McKee added that the door was still open for players in the Top 14 finals to join the Flying Fijians squad should their team get knocked out. These included 2015 RWC captain Akapusi Qera and tighthead prop Manasa Saulo. There are also a few players in the Warriors squad who would be on standby and could be called up in case of injury.

FRU CEO, John O’Connor, has encouraged all the supporters to come down to ANZ Stadium in Suva and watch the Flying Fijians take on the might of the Ikale Tahi Tonga, Manu Samoa and Georgia on the 11th, 18th and 24th of June.

“This is the first tournament for our Flying Fijians and will be a family fun filled event. I would like to encourage all the fans to come down and support them, as we start the bid to qualify for the 2019 RWC," he said.

“Tickets which are sold at affordable prices will go on sale soon and when they do, please get yours early to avoid any disappointment.”

Fiji squad for Pacific Nations Cup and June Test series: Campese Ma’afu, Peni Ravai, Sunia Koto, Viliame Veikeso, Jale Sassen, Leeroy Atalifo, Taniela Koroi, Mesake Doge, Leone Nakawara, Tevita Cavubati, Api Ratuniyarawa, Nemia Soqeta, Dominiko Waqaniburotu, Malakai Ravulo, Eremasi Radrodro, Henry Senioli, Nemia Kenatale, Serupepeli Vularika, Ben Volavola, Seremaia Bai, Eroni Vasiteri, Vereniki Goneva, Waisea Nayacalevu, John Stewart, Patrick Osborne, Savenaca Rawaca, Benito Masilevu, Kini Murimurivalu