Fiji announces squad for Sydney, Wellington

Date published: January 19 2017

Fiji have announced their squad that will represent the island nation at the 2017 World Sevens Series legs in Wellington and Sydney.

The selection sees five players from the Fiji Baabas Sevens Team that played in the recent SudAmerica Tournament forcing their way into the side.

Mesulame Kunavula and Nacanieli Labalaba will make their debut, while Kalioni Nasoko, Amenoni Nasilasila and Alivereti Veitokani make a return to the side.

Retained from the last leg are Jasa Veremalua, Sevuloni Mocenacagi, Setareki Bituniyata, Nemani Nagusa, Jerry Tuwai, Osea Kolinisau, Samisoni Viriviri and Joeli Lutumailagi.

Vatemo Ravouvou, who missed out on the first leg of the tournament, has also been named in the team.

Fiji Sevens Coach Gareth Baber said that the players from the Fiji Baabas Sevens team deserved to be selected as they played really well and impressively. He also congratulated the two debutants in the team.

"We believe that we have selected a very good team which has a mixture of experienced and youthful players. I am confident that the team will do well in both tournaments," Baber told the Fiji Rugby Union website.

"Some of the senior players are still recovering from injury and will be considered for the next leg once their rebab has been completed."

FRU CEO, Mr John O’Connor congratulated the players on their selection.

"I would like to congratulate you on your selection especially the two debutants. However, I would like to remind the team that you face a huge challenge in both tournaments.

"All eyes will be on the team as you take the field because you now have a new coach. But be reminded that this is the same as any other tournament only a different venue and the game plan does not change. So go out there play to the best of your ability and make Fiji proud."

Fiji Sevens squad: Jasa Veremulua, Sevuloni Mocenacagi, Setareki Bituniyata, Nemani Nagusa, Kalioni Nasoko, Mesulame Kunavula, Jerry Tuwai, Vatemo Ravouvou, Osea Kolinisau (c), Alifereti Veitokani, Amenoni Nasilasila, Samisoni Viriviri, Nacanieli Labalaba, Joeli Lutumailagi