Fernandez the hero for in-form Clermont

Date published: October 30 2016

Clermont consolidated their position at the top of the Top 14 standings after securing a deserved 40-16 win over Brive at Stade Amédée Domenech.

Les Jaunards dominated from the outset and outscored their hosts by four tries to one with fly-half Patricio Fernandez the visitors' hero after contributing 30 points to his side's cause courtesy to a brace of tries, four penalties and four conversions.

Three of the visitors' tries were scored during the first half which set up a commanding 27-9 lead at the break.

Fernandez and Gaetan Germain traded early penalties before the visitors took the game by the scruff of the neck thanks to tries from the pivot, Charlie Cassang and Noa Nakaitaci which meant they led 27-6 until Germain slotted his third three-pointer from the kicking tee on the stroke of half-time.

The home side came out stronger after the break and were rewarded on the hour-mark when Lucas Pointud crossed for their only try but Fernandez's accurate goalkicking kept the visitors in the lead throughout the hslf.

Fernandez sealed the win when he went over for his second try in the 75th minute and the result means Clermont are now five points ahead of their neares rivals – Toulon and Montpellier – at the top of the table.

The scorers:

For Brive:
Con: Germain
Pens: Germain 3

For Clermont:
Fernandez 2, Nakaitaci, Cassang
Cons: Fernandez 4
Pens: Fernandez 4
Yellow Card: Timani

Brive: 15 Gaetan Germain, 14 Sevenaia Galala, 13 Arnaud Mignardi, 12 Seremaia Burotu, 11 Benito Masilevu, 10 Nicolas Bezy, 9 Teddy Iribaren, 8 Petrus Hauman, 7 Poutasi Luafutu, 6 Fabien Sanconnie, 5 Arnaud Mela, 4 Julien Ledevedec, 3 Patrick-Albert Toetu, 2 Guillaume Ribes, 1 Karlen
Replacements: 16 Francois Da Ros, 17 Lucas Pointud, 18 Dominiko Waqaniburotu, 19 Said Hireche, 20 Jean-Baptiste Pejoine, 21 Thomas Laranjeira, 22 Benjamin Lapeyre, 23 Soso Bekoshvili

Clermont: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 Adrien Plante, 13 Aurelien Rougerie, 12 Isaia Toeava, 11 Noa Nakaitaci, 10 Patricio Fernandez, 9 Charlie Cassang, 8 Damien Chouly, 7 Alexandre Lapandry, 6 Viktor Kolelishvili, 5 Sitaleki Timani, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Clement Ric, 2 Yohan Beheregaray, 1 Thomas Domingo
Replacements: 16 Benjamin Kayser, 17 Vincent Debaty, 18 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 19 Camille Gerondeau, 20 Morgan Parra, 21 Benson Stanley, 22 Hosea Gear, 23 Davit Zirakashvili

Referee: Pascal Gauzère