Exeter too strong for Bath

Date published: November 8 2014

Exeter Chiefs made it two wins from two in the LV= Cup on Saturday as two second-half tries saw them defeat Bath 18-6 at Sandy Park.

Exeter Chiefs made it two wins from two in the LV= Cup on Saturday as a couple of second-half tries helped them beat Bath 18-6 at Sandy Park.

The scores were level at three apiece at half-time as Gavin Henson’s second-minute penalty was responded to by home fly-half Gareth Steenson.

After the resumption it was again Henson to open the scoring with three points before the Chiefs moved up through the gears in the closing 25 minutes, with a 60th-minute try from replacement prop Carl Rimmer setting them on their way.

Not to be outdone, fellow substitute front-rower Moray Low crossed before the final whistle, with Steenson missing that conversion but landing a penalty in the final seconds as the four points move the Chiefs back to the top of Group D.

Bath sit second in Group B and travel to Quins next weekend while Exeter go to the Dragons.

The scorers:

For Exeter:
Tries: Rimmer, Low
Con: Steenson
Pen: Steenson 2

For Bath:
Pen: Henson 2

Exeter:15 Byron McGuigan, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Matt Jess, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Don Armand, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Damian Welch, 4 Dean Mumm (capt), 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Jack Yeandle, 1 Ben Moon
Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Moray Low, 19 Ryan Caldwell, 20 Ben White, 21 Haydn Thomas, 22 Ian Whitten, 23 Adam Hughes.

Bath: 15 Luke Arscott, 14 Olly Woodburn, 13 Matt Banahan, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Richard Lane, 10 Gavin Henson, 9 Micky Young, 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Max Northcote-Green, 6 David Sisi, 5 Charlie Ewels (c), 4 Dominic Day, 3 Henry Thomas, 2 Ross Batty, 1 Nathan Catt
Replacements: 16 Tom Dunn, 17 Nick Auterac, 18 Kane Palma-Newport, 19 Tom Ellis, 20 Stuart Hooper, 21 Peter Stringer, 22 Max Clark, 23 George Wacokecoke.

Referee: Craig Evans (Wales)
Assistant referees: Peter Huckle (England), Andrew Pearce (England)
Timekeeper: Eric Bullion (England)
Assessor: Jerry Wallis (England)