Ex-Stormers lock named in Sharks squad

Date published: November 19 2015

Sharks director of rugby Gary Gold has named his provisional pre-season training squad for the 2016 Super Rugby campaign.

Included in the squad is former Stormers lock Ruan Botha, who has signed a two-year contract with the Durban-based franchise.

Botha's move to the Sharks offsets the loss of Springbok second-row Pieter-Steph du Toit who has joined the Stormers.

“Ruan is a young player with a bright future ahead of him," Gold told the Sharks' website.

"He was part of the SA U20 squad that won the IRB Junior Championship in 2012 and we look forward to his progress in the black and white jersey.”

Gold is set to name his final squad for next year's Super Rugby campaign early in 2016.

“This squad will be re-looked at in the New Year, when our other squad members return,” he added.

The squad will be boosted by the return of players currently in Japan, namely Marcell Coetzee, Willie le Roux, JP Pietersen, Jacques Potgieter and Renaldo Bothma

The Sharks have also released six players including former Springboks Marco Wentzel(lock) and Waylon Murray (centre).

Sharks provisional training squad:

Forwards: Aaron Schramm, Barend Potgieter, Christiaan de Bruin, Coenie Oosthuizen, Dale Chadwick, David McDuling, Etienne Oosthuizen, Franco Marais, Francois Kleinhans, Gerhard Engelbrecht, Hyron Andrews, Jean Deysel, Kyle Cooper, Beast Mtawarira, Lubabalo Mtyanda, Monde Hadebe, Mzamo Majola, Philip van der Walt, Ruan Botha, Sias Koen, Thomas du Toit.

Backs: André Esterhuizen, Cobus Reinach, Garth April, Heimar Williams, Innocent Radebe, Joe Pietersen, Johan Deysel, Lukhanyo Am, Lwazi Mvovo, Marius Louw, Michael Claassens, Odwa Ndungane, Pat Lambie, Paul Jordaan, Sibusiso Nkosi, S’bura Sithole, Stefan Ungerer, Wandile Mjekevu.

Players undergoing rehab due to injury: Beast Mtawarira, Conrad Hoffmann, Daniel du Preez, Jean-Luc du Preez, Juan Schoeman, Khaya Majola, Lourens Adriaanse, Stephan Lewies, Tera Mtembu

Players released: Jaco van Tonder, JC Astle, Lionel Cronje, Marco Wentzel, Waylon Murray, Wiehan Hay

Players currently in Japan: Marcell Coetzee, Willie le Roux, JP Pietersen, Jacques Potgieter and Renaldo Bothma