Evans stars for Ospreys

Date published: February 10 2017

Ospreys full-back Dan Evans scored a hat-trick as his side helped themselves to a 40-10 bonus-point victory against Zebre on Friday.

With both sides heavily depleted by the Six Nations, it was a chance for the youngsters to shine.

Zebre took the initiative, with Guglielmo Palazzani opening the scoring from the tee on three minutes.

The Italian side continued to press and scored the first try of the evening a few minutes later. Tommaso Boni dotting down after a swift counter attack. Palazzini's conversion opened up a ten point gap for the hosts.

After the ten minute opening blitz from the home side, Ospreys began to settle into the game. The Welsh side had penalty after penalty but failed to open their account.

But just before half time Ospreys eventually crossed the whitewash. Ashley Beck scored with Luke Price adding the extras.

After the break, Ospreys picked up where they left off with two tries in as many minutes. Two quick scores from Evans, with four points from Price rocketing the away side into a 21-10.

As if giving up a 10 point advantage wasn't bad enough, things got worse for Zebre minutes later when Lloyd Greef was shown yellow.

Ospreys continued to press and secured their bonus point try on 50 minutes, with Evans securing his hat trick.

After a second yellow card for Zebre, Steve Tandy's men continued to extend their lead with a fifth try courtesy of hooker Sam Parry just after the hour mark.

With Zebre hooker Oliviero Fabiani picking up his sides third yellow card of the evening for a deliberate knock on, Ospreys continued to take advantage with a sixth try from Dafydd Howells; Price's conversion taking his side over 40 points.

The win keeps Ospreys second in the PRO12 with Munster also winning at home to the Dragons.

The scorers:

For Zebre:
Try: Boni
Con: Palazzani
Pen: Palazzani
Yellow Cards: Greef, Koegelenberg, Fabiani

For Ospreys:
Tries: Beck, Evans 3, Parry, Howells
Cons: Price 5

Zebre: 15 Kurt Baker, 14 Mattia Bellini, 13 Tommaso Boni, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Lloys Greeff, 10 Serafin Bordoli, 9 Guglielmo Palazzani, 8 Federico Ruzza, 7 Johan Meyer, 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Valerio Bernabò, 4 Quintin Geldenhuys (c), 3 Guillermo Roan, 2 Oliviero Fabiani, 1 Bruno Postiglioni
Replacements: 16 Adriano Daniele, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Bartholomeus Le Roux, 19 Gideon Koegelenberg, 20 Davide Fragnito, 21 Carlo Engelbrecht, 22 Faialaga Afamasaga, 23 Maicol Azzolini

Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Ben John, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Ashley Beck, 11 Dafydd Howells, 10 Luke Price, 9 Tom Habberfield (c), 8 Dan Baker, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Tyler Ardron, 5 Lloyd Ashley, 4 Adam Beard, 3 Rhodri Jones, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Paul James
Replacements: 16 Hugh Gustafson, 17 Gareth Thomas, 18 Daniel Suter, 19 Rory Thornton, 20 Olly Cracknell, 21 Matthew Aubrey, 22 Hanno Dirksen, 23 Jonathan Spratt

Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Sam Grove-White (Scotland), Stefano Bolzonella (Italy)