England thump Ireland to claim U20 Championship crown

Date published: June 25 2016

England were crowned World Rugby U20 champions after recording an emphatic 45-19 victory over Ireland at the AJ Bell Stadium on Saturday.

For England it was their third U20 Championship title in four years as they rounded off a memorable day following the success of the senior side in sealing a 3-0 series whitewash over Australia.

Northampton Saints back Harry Mallinder contributed 23 points for the home side via two tries while adding five conversions and a penalty from the tee.

Martin Haag’s side scored three converted tries through Joe Marchant, Callum Chick and Huw Taylor with Mallinder converting all three in a fine first-half as the players headed into the break with England enjoying a 21-0 lead.

Ireland came back into the game with converted tries from Adam McBurney and Shane Daly but Mallinder crossed twice himself, also kicking two conversions and a penalty.

A second try from Marchant though, which Mallinder converted, added further gloss to England’s victory despite Ireland’s late consolation through Max Deegan.

Marchant had the first points of the game, collecting the ball on the left wing, he raced through Ireland’s defence, searing past four men, to score under the posts with Mallinder adding the extras.

England second try came via number eight Chick who crashed over after his fellow forwards had driven a scrum to Ireland’s line and Mallinder sent over his second conversion.

Taylor scored England’s third taking advantage of some slick handling in contact from Mallinder and Johnny Williams with Mallinder’s conversion taking the score to 21-0.

England’s fourth try came from fly-half Mallinder who was on the end of two inside passes from Marchant and Williams to go over under the posts.

McBurney crashed over off the back of a driving maul to score Ireland’s first try and Johnny McPhillips converted for 28-7.

Stan South charged through midfield before releasing to Mallinder to go over under the posts and he converted his own score for 35-7.

Jacob Stockdale collected a ball in his own half before jinking his way through England’s defence to release Daly to go over in the corner which McPhillips converted.

Stephen Kerins was sent to the bin for ten minutes and Mallinder kicked the penalty to take the score to 38-14.

Marchant collected Mallinder’s cross kick to score his second try of the game beating the Ireland defence to the ball before touching down under the posts and despite a late try for Deegan it was England who were celebrating at the final whistle.

The scorers:

For England:
Tries: Mallinder 2, Marchant 2, Chick, Taylor
Cons: Mallinder 5, Green
Pen: Mallinder

For Ireland:
Tries: McBurney, Deegan, Daly
Cons: McPhillips 2, Connon
Yellow Card: Kerins

England: 15 Max Malins, 14 Sam Aspland-Robinson, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Johnny Williams, 11 Matt Gallagher, 10 Harry Mallinder (c), 9 Max Green, 8 Callum Chick, 7 Will Evans, 6 George Nott, 5 Huw Taylor, 4 Stan South, 3 Billy Walker, 2 Jack Singleton, 1 Lewis Boyce
Replacements: 16 Charlie Piper, 17 Tom West, 18 Will Stuart, 19  Andrew Kitchener, 20 Jack Willis, 21 Harry Randall, 22 Max Wright, 23 Ollie Thorley

Ireland: 15 Jacob Stockdale, 14 Matthew Byrne, 13 Shane Daly, 12 Conor O’Brien, 11 Hugo Keenan, 10 Johnny McPhillips, 9 Stephen Kerins, 8 Max Deegan, 7 David Aspil, 6 Greg Jones, 5 James Ryan, 4 Sean O’Connor, 3 Ben Betts, 2 Adam McBurney, 1 Andrew Porter
Replacements: 16 Vincent O’Brien, 17 James Bollard, 18 Adam Coyle, 19 Evan Mintern, 20 Kelvin Brown, 21 Niall Saunders, 22 Brett Connon, 23 Jimmy O’Brien

Referee: Paul Williams (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa), Thomas Charabas (France)
TMO: John Mason (Wales)