England starlet misses Ireland preparation for medical exam as flanker rewarded following Portugal demolition

Colin Newboult
Immanuel Feyi-Waboso making his debut for England in the 2024 Six Nations.

Immanuel Feyi-Waboso making his debut for England in the 2024 Six Nations.

England wing Immanuel Feyi-Waboso will miss part of the team’s preparation for their Six Nations clash with Ireland, which takes place on March 9.

Steve Borthwick has named an updated 36-man squad ahead of their fourth-round game, but it did not include the young wing.

Feyi-Waboso earned his second cap in the match against Scotland and impressed, scoring his first international try in the process.

Face-to-face exam

However, the 21-year-old will not be involved this week as he attends a medical exam at Exeter University, which is required to be completed face-to-face.

That is the most notable absence in the squad, but Ben Curry is also missing after picking up an injury.

Northampton Saints flanker Tom Pearson is his replacement, while Will Muir is in for Feyi-Waboso, after they both impressed for England A in their dominant victory over a Portugal development side last Sunday.

Max Ojomoh was another member of that group to shine, and he has once again been given the nod in the 36.

Elsewhere, Marcus Smith and Alex Mitchell remain absent, but they will link up with the England squad to continue their rehabilitation.

Steve Borthwick issued an update on Tuesday, stating he was “hopeful” that Smith would make the Ireland Six Nations encounter.

The head coach may look to make some changes to his 23 for next weekend’s match with the northern hemisphere’s dominant force.

In particular, their playmakers struggled during the 30-21 defeat to Scotland in the Calcutta Cup, with George Furbank, Henry Slade, George Ford and Danny Care faltering in the execution of the basics.

England’s 36-man training squad

Forwards: Ollie Chessum, Dan Cole, Alex Coles, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Chandler Cunningham-South, Theo Dan, Alex Dombrandt, Ben Earl, Charlie Ewels, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Joe Heyes, Maro Itoje, Joe Marler, George Martin, Beno Obano, Tom Pearson, Ethan Roots, Will Stuart, Sam Underhill

Backs: Danny Care, Elliot Daly, Fraser Dingwall, George Ford, Tommy Freeman, George Furbank, Ollie Lawrence, Will Muir, Max Ojomoh, Harry Randall, Tom Roebuck, Henry Slade, Fin Smith, Ben Spencer, Freddie Steward, Manu Tuilagi

READ MORE: Sir Clive Woodward: The ‘sad reality’ of England’s player stocks