Emerging Ireland squad named

Date published: May 19 2015

The Emerging Ireland coaches, Allen Clarke and Girvan Dempsey, have named a squad of 27 players to compete in the World Rugby Tbilisi Cup.

Ulster forwards coach Clarke and Leinster's academy manager Dempsey take charge of a squad who face Emerging Italy, Uruguay and Georgia in June.

The squad includes five players who have been capped at senior level for Ireland – Stephen Archer (2), James Cronin (2), Rob Herring (1), Noel Reid (1) and Rhys Ruddock (5).

"This competition gives us the opportunity to develop some of the emerging talent from the four provinces with the support of some experienced players in a very challenging tournament format," said Clarke.

"It's a great opportunity to see how these players react and perform faced with the challenge of a short preparation."

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt said: "There are some exciting prospects in this Emerging Ireland squad and the Tbilisi Cup is an ideal challenge for them, especially as both Georgia and Uruguay will be using this tournament to springboard their Rugby World Cup campaigns."

Emerging Ireland will face off against Emerging Italy in their opening game of the tournament on Saturday, June 13.

Four days later they take on Uruguay with their final game coming against the host nation Georgia on Sunday, June 21.

Both Uruguay and Georgia will compete in this year's Rugby World Cup in England.

Emerging Ireland Squad (Tbilisi Cup, Georgia, June 2015)

Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution/Munster), Finlay Bealham (Corinthians/Connacht), Denis Buckley (Corinthians/Connacht), Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster), John Cooney (Terenure/Connacht), James Cronin (Dolphin/Munster), Eoin Griffin (London Irish), JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster), Matt Healy (Lansdowne/Connacht), Dave Heffernan (Buccaneers/Connacht), Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Billy Holland (Cork Constitution/Munster), Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster), Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster), Ben Marshall (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Eoghan Masterson (Corinthians/Connacht), Stuart McCloskey (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster), Eoin McKeon (Corinthians/Connacht), Peter Nelson (Malone/Ulster), Tiernan O'Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht), Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster), Rhys Ruddock (St Mary's College/Leinster), Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster), Lewis Stevenson (Malone/Ulster), Frank Taggart (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Andy Warwick (Ballymena/Ulster).

Emerging Ireland Fixtures

Emerging Italy v Emerging Ireland
Saturday 13th June 17:00 (14:00 GMT)

Uruguay v Emerging Ireland
Wednesday 17th June 17:00 (14:00 GMT)

Georgia v Emerging Ireland
Sunday 21st June 19:00 (16:00 GMT)